BLU-RAY/DVD REVIEWS

003631Reviews & Counting
SEARCH BY TITLE # A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
11-11-11
DVD disk
May 8, 2012 By: Stephanie Cooke
11-11-11 order download
Director:
Darren Lynn Bousman

Actors:
Timothy Gibbs
Michael Landes
Brendan Price

Rating:
Movie:
Extras:
Overall:

star Printer-Friendly version
comment
WHAT'S IT ABOUT?
After the death of his wife and child, an author travels to Barcelona to see his estranged brother and dying father, where he learns that his life is plagued by events that occur on 11/11/11.
IS IT A GOOD MOVIE?
On the cover of the DVD in big letters is ďFrom the director of Saw II, III & IVĒ, so without knowing too much about this film, I assumed that 11-11-11 would be a blood bath from the horror genre.

The first thing to note about this film is that it is not at all bloody or goryÖ not even a bit. In fact, this might be one of the least bloody horror films that I have ever seen. The second thing I guess I should note is that while I call it a horror film, itís really not very scary at all. 11-11-11 tries to be more of a psychological horror/thriller movie that sort of takes inspiration from horror films like Rosemaryís Baby.

The third thing to note is that while I can appreciate the kind of movie that director Darren Lynn Bousman was going for, it was not a very good movie. I guess the most prominent things that took away from the film were the acting and the dialogue. For a B-movie, itís not the worst thing Iíve ever seen, but that still doesnít make it good.

11-11-11 definitely has a few creepy moments, but I think the ultimate problem with the film is that you donít understand why those creepy moments are there. It doesnít try to be flashy and wave around a whack of subpar B-movie special features. Instead, they try to rely on a stealthier creepy factor. After watching the film, Iím still a little confused as to what the hell even really happened in the film. The big reveal was probably awesome if you understood what happened, but for the general public, I think that the timeline for the film really didnít add up in the end.
THE EXTRAS
Making Of Featurette: A look behind the scenes at how the movie came together and what director Darren Lynn Bousmanís vision for the film was . The cast and the crew talk about filming in Barcelona and Bousman talks about his inspiration and what he drew from as far as the style of the film.

Deleted and Extended Scenes: This is a pretty short set of bonus scenes. None of them really bring anything new and exciting to the table though.

And the last feature on the DVD is an Audio Commentary with the director and producer.
FINAL DIAGNOSIS
11-11-11 was really going for a slow-burn horror film vibe that pulled off the slow-burn bit, but with little to no payoff. The film didnít do a good job of really conveying what was happening in the film and as a result, the payoff just didnít seem to make a whole lot of sense. Sometimes itís good for a movie to leave you scratching your head after itís all over, but unfortunately in the case of 11-11-11, it wasnít a good kind of puzzled to be left with.
Strikeback
Not registered? Sign-up!
Or

2:23AM on 05/08/2012

Disagree

I began this movie not expecting much since I never heard anything about it except for what you stated - that the poster said from the director of the Saw movies. I was pleasantly surprised at how good it was! It looked like one of those long biblical movies that takes place in a different country (which I hate) but it kept me entertained the entire time. Maybe it wasn't worth the price of admission to the theater but well worth a DVD rental. There were quite a few times that it made me jump
I began this movie not expecting much since I never heard anything about it except for what you stated - that the poster said from the director of the Saw movies. I was pleasantly surprised at how good it was! It looked like one of those long biblical movies that takes place in a different country (which I hate) but it kept me entertained the entire time. Maybe it wasn't worth the price of admission to the theater but well worth a DVD rental. There were quite a few times that it made me jump and the ending was a surprise ending just like what made most of the Saw movies so fun to watch. I'm not sure what happened that you think the ending was hard to understand because it really does not take a lot of thought or really any at all to understand it.
Your Reply:



JoBlo's T-Shirt Shoppe | support our site... Wear Our Gear!