BLU-RAY/DVD REVIEWS

003731Reviews & Counting
SEARCH BY TITLE # A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Cloud Atlas
06.13.2013 By: Mathew Plale
Cloud Atlas order download
Director:
The Wachowskis, Tom Twyker

Actors:
Tom Hanks
Halle Berry
Jim Broadbent

Rating:
Movie:
Extras:
Overall:

star Printer-Friendly version
comment
WHAT'S IT ABOUT?
Adapted from David Mitchell’s 2004 novel, Cloud Atlas explores how human decisions and actions affect countless generations and eras.
IS IT A GOOD MOVIE?
Many thought David Mitchell’s 2004 novel to be unfilmable. It’s no wonder why.

Cloud Atlas spans many years and many characters. There are names both big and small playing roles both large and miniscule. Tom Hanks is a doctor and a scientist, then a hotel manager. Halle Berry is a journalist and a Prescient, then a party guest. Jim Broadbent is a captain and a publisher, then a Korean musician. Jim Sturges is a lawyer and a rebel commander, then a hotel guest. Hugo Weaving is a hitman and a nurse, then a board member. They exist in numerous times and locations. There’s 1849 South Pacific, 1936 England/Scotland, 1973 San Francisco, 2012 United Kingdom, 2144 Seoul, 2321 “Big Isle.”

And believe it or not, it all intertwines. There may even be a purpose to it, if you choose to find one. The biggest problem with Cloud Atlas, directed by The Wachowskis (The Matrix franchise) and Tom Twyker (Run Lola Run), is that it’s awfully easy to give up in the first third of the whole show, which runs a tiresome 170 minutes.

Cloud Atlas is an ambitious film for both its directors and its stars. This marks the first time in more than a decade that either Hanks or Berry took a career risk; and the Wachowskis, whose only post-Matrix venture, Speed Racer, lost tens of millions of dollars, had no reason to be trusted with such a large budget. But here they all are, out to support their cause…whatever it is.

The film will intrigue and entrance some, even if they’re not entirely following the multiple storylines. But the majority, however closely they’re picking at the details, will still be left going, Huh? There’s nothing wrong with that if there’s a deeper meaning to it all, as seen in Shane Carruth’s Upstream Color, for example. But that doesn’t seem to be the case with Cloud Atlas, whose self-importance and deliberate confusion causes the film to collapse in on itself before it’s all over.

THE EXTRAS
Focus Points houses seven featurettes, which can be viewed separately or as a whole. They are: promotional piece A Film Like No Other (7:15); Everything Is Connected (8:00), a look at all of the characters and periods of the story; The Impossible Adaptation (9:07), which looks at the task of turning David Mitchell’s novel into a film; The Essence of Acting (7:20), in which the actors discuss their many characters; Spaceships, Slaves & Sextets (8:08), which focuses on the complicated plotlines; The Bold Science Fiction of Cloud Atlas (7:14), a piece on the sci-fi elements and special effects; and Eternal Recurrence: Love, Life and Longing in Cloud Atlas (7:39), which touches on some of the film’s themes.

Also included are a DVD Copy and UltraViolet.

FINAL DIAGNOSIS
Directed by the Wachowskis and Tom Twyker, the epic Cloud Atlas takes three hours to illustrate it’s not nearly as meaningful as it thinks it is. Although the cast (most notably Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Jim Broadbent, and Jim Sturges) gives it their all, they’re still incapable of making the film seem anything but self-important. Special features include a handful of featurettes that look at the film’s characters, plots, themes, and more.
Strikeback
Not registered? Sign-up!
Or

1:42AM on 06/13/2013
This was one of those "points for trying" kind of films. It's so audaciously ambitious that there seems to be no way that the Wachowskis and Tykwer would have pulled it off without a hitch. But for the odd ball of movie that it is, it's worth another look.
This was one of those "points for trying" kind of films. It's so audaciously ambitious that there seems to be no way that the Wachowskis and Tykwer would have pulled it off without a hitch. But for the odd ball of movie that it is, it's worth another look.
Your Reply:



+11
1:48AM on 06/13/2013
Couldn't disagree more--I thought the movie was wonderful. And actually, despite the intertwining and layered stories, it's never that confusing, really. Honestly, just a lovely film from beginning to end. And Ben Whishaw is adorable.
Couldn't disagree more--I thought the movie was wonderful. And actually, despite the intertwining and layered stories, it's never that confusing, really. Honestly, just a lovely film from beginning to end. And Ben Whishaw is adorable.
Your Reply:



2:12AM on 06/13/2013

bleh

It took me 12 hours and multiple sittings to watch this movie. I could not get into it. I liked the old people, and ol' Georgie, but thats about it. The makeup was just beyond creepy at times. Halle Berry as an old asian dude? She just cant act. that Oscar is a fluke. I cant recommend this movie to anyone, unless they have trouble sleeping.
It took me 12 hours and multiple sittings to watch this movie. I could not get into it. I liked the old people, and ol' Georgie, but thats about it. The makeup was just beyond creepy at times. Halle Berry as an old asian dude? She just cant act. that Oscar is a fluke. I cant recommend this movie to anyone, unless they have trouble sleeping.
Your Reply:



5:52AM on 06/13/2013
What gives with the negative review? To be honest, in my opinion this was the best movie of 2012. I thought it was vastly intelligent and impressive in regards to story connections, writing and acting. Especially Hugo Weaving's performance! I understand its not for everyone but it doesn't warrant a movie rating of 1.5/5.
What gives with the negative review? To be honest, in my opinion this was the best movie of 2012. I thought it was vastly intelligent and impressive in regards to story connections, writing and acting. Especially Hugo Weaving's performance! I understand its not for everyone but it doesn't warrant a movie rating of 1.5/5.
Your Reply:



8:02AM on 06/13/2013

Yeah

I had many reservations about this movie going in. Most of my fears were realized. I should have known better to watch another Tom Hanks movie. He is as bland as it gets. Halle Berry looked bored. The make up was terrible. The story wasn't all it made out to be. It dragged, and some of the parts really were unnecessary. The old people really didn't need to be in the movie. They could have cut out an hour and a half and it might have more coherent. Overall it was pretty disjointed. I
I had many reservations about this movie going in. Most of my fears were realized. I should have known better to watch another Tom Hanks movie. He is as bland as it gets. Halle Berry looked bored. The make up was terrible. The story wasn't all it made out to be. It dragged, and some of the parts really were unnecessary. The old people really didn't need to be in the movie. They could have cut out an hour and a half and it might have more coherent. Overall it was pretty disjointed. I remember reading one review where this was going to be a cult type movie. Hardly.
Your Reply:



8:08AM on 06/13/2013

I really liked it, thought it was one of the best movies of 2012

It's an incredibly ambitious movie, and those 3 hours flew by for me, which makes it an automatic win in my book. I really enjoyed the intertwining storylines and the way the choices one character made had repercussions on their next life. Fascinating stuff.
It's an incredibly ambitious movie, and those 3 hours flew by for me, which makes it an automatic win in my book. I really enjoyed the intertwining storylines and the way the choices one character made had repercussions on their next life. Fascinating stuff.
Your Reply:



9:02AM on 06/13/2013
I definitely disagree with your review of this movie. I really enjoyed it. It wasn't perfect, but was ambitious and I thought impressive.
I definitely disagree with your review of this movie. I really enjoyed it. It wasn't perfect, but was ambitious and I thought impressive.
Your Reply:



4:09PM on 06/13/2013

This is a very divisive movie that deserves 2 reviews.

From someone that gets it as well as someone that doesn't. I loved it and I loved the book. I can appreciate how many would find it baffling. As an experiment in story telling it is something people should be willing to give up 3 hours of their life up to try. There are certainly worse things to do in 3 hours.
From someone that gets it as well as someone that doesn't. I loved it and I loved the book. I can appreciate how many would find it baffling. As an experiment in story telling it is something people should be willing to give up 3 hours of their life up to try. There are certainly worse things to do in 3 hours.
Your Reply:



Best Selling

| April 2016 More Best Selling
  • 1
    Deadpool
  • 2
    Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  • 3
    The Revenant
  • 4
    Purple Rain
  • 5
    Deadpool (4K)

Featured Youtube Videos

Views and Counting