BLU-RAY/DVD REVIEWS

003517Reviews & Counting
SEARCH BY TITLE # A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
The Place Beyond the Pines
BLU-RAY disk
Aug 20, 2013 By: Chris Bumbray
The Place Beyond the Pines order download
Director:
Derek Cianfrance

Actors:
Ryan Gosling
Bradley Cooper
Eva Mendes
Ray Liotta
Rose Byrne

Rating:
Movie:
Extras:
Overall:

star Printer-Friendly version
comment
WHAT'S IT ABOUT?
Luke (Ryan Gosling) is a motorcycle rider, eking out a living doing stunt riding at travelling carnivals. When he learns that a waitress (Eva Mendes) he had a fling with a year ago bore him a son, he vows to take care of his new family, and in desperation turns to bank robbery. He crosses paths with Avery (Bradley Cooper) - an ambitious cop, sending their families onto a collision course that transcends generations.
IS IT A GOOD MOVIE?
THE PLACE BEYOND THE PINES was a film I first saw at last year’s edition of the Toronto International Film Festival. I was lucky enough to the “world premiere” of the film, and considering the secrecy surrounding the film beforehand, I had absolutely no idea what I was in store for. What followed was a 140 minute family epic, and certainly the best film I saw at the festival (no small feat, considering how great last year’s fest was).

The best way to experience PINES is the way I did, by going in not knowing too much about it. That’s probably impossible considering the buzz surrounding the film upon its theatrical release this spring, but if you don’t know anything about it beyond my sketchy synopsis, just stop reading and see the movie. You won’t be sorry.
Br> If you need a bit more convincing I’ll tell you this. PINES is like three movies in one, with each running about forty-five minutes. Naturally, everyone’s favorite is the Gosling one, with his motorcycle riding bandit being a somewhat more human variation on his character from DRIVE, albeit one far less prone to violence (there’s only a few shots fired in PINES, and every time a gun is fired, something horrible happens). The second focuses on Cooper’s conscientious cop, and to me, this segment was the one with the least power, although it’s an important bridge between the first and third stories.

As far as I’m concerned, the absolute best part of PINES is the third, and final segment with Dane DeHaan as a boy connected to both Cooper and Gosling’s characters. A lot of people disagree, but I found this part of the movie devastating, and I think DeHaan is worthy of an Oscar nomination for Best Supporting Actor (Mike Patton, of the band Faith No More, also deserves a nomination for his soundtrack). Together, the three stories add up to an absolutely brilliant multi-generational saga, and a film I’ll be sure to revisit quite a few times.

THE EXTRAS
The Blu-Ray for THE PLACE BEYOND THE PINES comes with relatively scant extras. First, there’s ten minutes of deleted scenes followed by a commentary track by Cianfrance. The extras are rounded out by a quickie featurette .
FINAL DIAGNOSIS
To be sure, PINES, which is director Derek Cianfrance’s follow-up to BLUE VALENTINE, is not your typical crime epic. Instead of focusing on carnage, it focuses on characters and relationships. Cianfrance’s film ends up relatively short on adrenaline, but I doubt you’ll see a more emotionally gripping film this year.
Strikeback
Not registered? Sign-up!
Or

10:30AM on 08/20/2013
This movie was phenomenal. However, how do you give the "extras" 4.5 stars when you stated that they were "relatively scant."
This movie was phenomenal. However, how do you give the "extras" 4.5 stars when you stated that they were "relatively scant."
Your Reply:



7:05PM on 08/21/2013
Because rating the extras lower would result in a lesser score for the entire package. I have a feeling this will pop up on Criterion a few years from now; it was well received and has enough domestic + international support to justify a Cianfrance supervised release.
Because rating the extras lower would result in a lesser score for the entire package. I have a feeling this will pop up on Criterion a few years from now; it was well received and has enough domestic + international support to justify a Cianfrance supervised release.
10:26AM on 08/20/2013
I don't know, to me this film didn't really work. The first part was an interesting take on the crime genre with some heart-pounding bank robberies (although Ryan Gosling's squealing was kind of distracting). The second part was a by-the-books tale about an honest cop caught up in corruption, including Ray Liotta playing a dirty cop... again. The third part, without spoiling anything, was way too dependent on coincidence (and that wigger kid was annoying). All in all it was an ambitious
I don't know, to me this film didn't really work. The first part was an interesting take on the crime genre with some heart-pounding bank robberies (although Ryan Gosling's squealing was kind of distracting). The second part was a by-the-books tale about an honest cop caught up in corruption, including Ray Liotta playing a dirty cop... again. The third part, without spoiling anything, was way too dependent on coincidence (and that wigger kid was annoying). All in all it was an ambitious project (the fact that the 3 stories weren't interspersed was refreshing) but Cianfrance didn't quite pull it off in my opinion. 7/10.
Your Reply:



3:52PM on 08/21/2013
I didn't mean that the kid being "ghetto" was illogical, as Chris Bumray pointed it's actually fairly common. How many white parents bring their kids up to be hip hop fans? I'd say very very little and yet wiggers are abound. It's just that the actor got on my nerves a bit, but that's just me. Having said all that I did about this movie it wouldn't surprise me if a 2nd viewing would improve my opinion on it. It's exactly the type of film for it, like, say, Magnolia.
I didn't mean that the kid being "ghetto" was illogical, as Chris Bumray pointed it's actually fairly common. How many white parents bring their kids up to be hip hop fans? I'd say very very little and yet wiggers are abound. It's just that the actor got on my nerves a bit, but that's just me. Having said all that I did about this movie it wouldn't surprise me if a 2nd viewing would improve my opinion on it. It's exactly the type of film for it, like, say, Magnolia.
1:04PM on 08/20/2013
Ah, I can see your points. Well said.
Ah, I can see your points. Well said.
12:26PM on 08/20/2013
I think the reason why he acted so "wigger" if I must say is that we can assume that he wasn't taught to not act like one. There's one brief part where his father is seen not really paying attention and focusing on his work so it's clear that he never really pay much attention to him and he was all he had. Also, it could be because he is trying to be rebellious. He doesn't like his dad or may even hate him so he rebels by acting like that.
I think the reason why he acted so "wigger" if I must say is that we can assume that he wasn't taught to not act like one. There's one brief part where his father is seen not really paying attention and focusing on his work so it's clear that he never really pay much attention to him and he was all he had. Also, it could be because he is trying to be rebellious. He doesn't like his dad or may even hate him so he rebels by acting like that.
11:32AM on 08/20/2013
To me, the kid acting "ghetto" was totally legit. I know tons of upper middle-class kids who have a chip on thier shoulder because they think people with think they're soft and try to overcompensate. Perfect example- Justin Beiber. Ever listen to him speak? Jeeez.
To me, the kid acting "ghetto" was totally legit. I know tons of upper middle-class kids who have a chip on thier shoulder because they think people with think they're soft and try to overcompensate. Perfect example- Justin Beiber. Ever listen to him speak? Jeeez.
10:49AM on 08/20/2013
I honestly didn't understand why his son was "ghetto" either. He was raised in an upper middle class family with well educated parents in both politics and medicine.
I honestly didn't understand why his son was "ghetto" either. He was raised in an upper middle class family with well educated parents in both politics and medicine.
10:16AM on 08/20/2013
I probably would agree about the third part, but I thought, in all, they all seem to work because none of them go in quite the direction you think they're going by the end. What happens with Bradley Cooper between the second and third part flies in the face of what we normally expect to see happen in a cop movie.
I probably would agree about the third part, but I thought, in all, they all seem to work because none of them go in quite the direction you think they're going by the end. What happens with Bradley Cooper between the second and third part flies in the face of what we normally expect to see happen in a cop movie.
Your Reply: