PDA

View Full Version : Hey everyone!

cboy
04-13-2003, 03:50 PM
Hey all-

I am new to this forum, thought I've been visiting the site for a couple of years now. I've enjoyed reading everyone's ideas and topics, and finally decided to register and start sharing with you wonderful people (not that I really know any of you, but you seem nice.)

I want to be screenwriter. I have a few script ideas bouncing around in my head, and I would appriciate it if you all would take a look at the one that is most developed at this point. Thank you.

"The Beautiful Ones" - a drama about Americans and the presssures society places on outward appearences and everything. The characters are sort of an ensemble cast. One family, the Brenners, are upperclass, old money folk, and the patriarch, Michael, is running for congress. The wife, Linda, is a stay-at-home mother. The oldest child, Lesley, a junior in high school, is "popular," but has secretly struggled with bullimia since her boyfriend of two years told her he wanted to take a break and has started dating extremely skinny girls. Lesley takes it as a direct insult on her physicality. The youngest child, Mikey, a freshmen, is a brilliant young artist. But he is basically in the closet abut his art because his father wants him to grow up and be a business man/politician like he is. The whole family is also under pressure by Michael to look nice and appear happy because "the public is watching."