Movie Fan Central Discussion Forums

Movie Fan Central Discussion Forums (http://www.joblo.com/forums/index.php)
-   Books/Comics (http://www.joblo.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   New to Collecting (http://www.joblo.com/forums/showthread.php?t=109209)

Mory's Wigs 03-21-2007 08:07 PM

New to Collecting

I am new to collecting comic books and just visited a comic store the other day. I came across the Ulitmate Spiderman Hard Cover Books ($29.99 each) and thought they looked really cool.

For those who have read them:

1) How many volumes are there?

2) Would you recommend them?

I am into the old super hero comics, that are recreated (Spiderman, Batman, Hulk, Fantastic Four, etc.) such as these Ultimate Spiderman books and like the idea of hard cover comic books ( a lot of comics in 1 book). So that being said, can you recommend anything?

Much appreciated!!!!

Sh8dy Milkman 03-22-2007 07:47 PM

If you're really in to superheroes you should check out Invincible. It starts out like a typical teen hero comic, but by the second volume it takes a completely new approach to the genre. You should also look for the Mini-series Meltdown. There are only 2 volumes and its premise is as followed:

MELTDOWN tells the story of a reluctant super-hero whose own fire- based powers are killing him; melting him down from within. He's only got 7 days left to put his life in order, and to make amends for all of his regrets.

Both of these series have great stories/writing and a great deal of well thought out action.

Powerslave 03-22-2007 08:09 PM

I'll second the Invincible recommendation. GREAT series, well written with amazing art. Very addictive. Plus it comes in hardcover 'Ultimate Collections'.

Book 1
Book 2

bourahioro 03-23-2007 06:55 AM

Re: New to Collecting

Quote:

Originally posted by Mory's Wigs