Go Back   Movie Fan Central Discussion Forums > Hobby Talk! > Books/Comics
MOVIE FAN CENTRAL FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-15-2007, 12:02 AM
the BEST & FAVORITE graphic novels / comic books

I am just getting into comic books. So I would love to know what you guys love. Tell me why and who is it by. I recently got into some Alan Moore stuff, which was amazing. And the only other stuff that I'm somewhat familiar with is Frank Miller.

So if I had to recommend one graphic novel to someone, it'd be Watchmen.
Old 01-15-2007, 03:11 AM
alex ross :kingdom come

will blow your mind,amazing art and great story.superman vs shazam.

hack/slash vol 1

tim seeley ,if you like horror .very good.girl lives thru a slasher attack only for years later to hunt them down.

y the last man.

b k vaughan ,what if all the males die leaving only females.well apart one guy and his male monkey.its my fav.

danger girl

j scott campbell.very funny,great art,kind of charlies angels meets bond .

frank millar

dark knight returns

wanted

by mark millar,world where superheroes no longer exist after the villians kill them off,nerdy guy finds his dad was a super villian.

l
Old 01-15-2007, 02:35 PM
Y the Last Man is an awesome concept, and it aint' too bad until you get to about book three, where you realize that it's going nowhere and revealing no reasons as to the WHY of Y.

Then, in trade number 6 you get even MORE pissed off, because every trade has the moment where you think, "Holy shit, something FINALLY is going to be explained about the mysterious deaths" only to find out he's puking blood because he ate a can of botulized tomato soup.

Y is fun for a few books, but if you're getting tired of the silly wheel spinning, it might not be worth reading further.

If you're a fan of mythology and fantasy storytelling that isn't high on action, you might love SANDMAN series as much as me (by Neil Gaiman).