Go Back   Movie Fan Central Discussion Forums > Hobby Talk! > Books/Comics
MOVIE FAN CENTRAL FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #2001  
Old 04-24-2012, 11:00 AM


All in all this was a good series.
Reply With Quote
  #2002  
Old 04-24-2012, 08:14 PM
Reply With Quote
  #2003  
Old 04-26-2012, 10:28 PM


Reply With Quote
  #2004  
Old 04-30-2012, 09:05 AM


and so shed a few tears at the end
Reply With Quote
  #2005  
Old 04-30-2012, 09:19 PM


Really a great piece of modern fiction. Egan is fantastic.



I don't think this series is very good, but I love it so much it's hard to tell.
Reply With Quote
  #2006  
Old 05-01-2012, 09:13 PM
wrong post

Last edited by ZMoney08; 05-17-2012 at 12:40 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2007  
Old 05-02-2012, 07:55 AM
Reply With Quote
  #2008  
Old 05-04-2012, 09:55 PM
Marvel : Civil War



After the New Warriors and their reality TV crew tried to arrest a gang of super-villains in Stantford,CT , something goes wrong and 600 peoples are dead. Facing a massive uprising against masked viligantes, the US goverment comes up with a Registration Act for all heroes ,mutants and caped crusaders.

One on side , the pro-registration led by Ironman. With the backing of S.H.I.E.L.D led by Maria Hill and notable superheroes like Spiderman , Mr.Fantastic , Miss Marvel , Deadpool , Blade & Black Widow too name a few , they tried to unify all heroes to work for S.H.I.E.L.D else be thrown in a prison in the Negative Zone ( kinda like Guantanamo )

On the other side , the anti-registration led by Captain America and a "working-behind-the-scene-while-AWOL-from-SHIELD" Nick Fury. The renegade group also includes Luke Cage , Daredevil , The Punisher , Cable , Wolverine , Doctor Strange and many more.

While there is too many comic heroes involved and the story tends to be overwhelming just by the sheer number of comic books involved ( 106 ) , the fact is that the heart of the story touches something deep : the value of freedom vs security .... especially in a post 9/11 America.



I loved the twists in the story like when people from both side defect to the other side after Goliath is killed by Thor-clone. I loved the way that it's more a right vs wrong fight rather than a good vs evil fight. I also loved the way villains are working in the background ( Dr Doom , Green Goblin, etc ). Marvel really went all out on this one and if a super-hero movie wants to top The Avengers , this is the story that Marvel wants to tell.

A Civil War movie will probably never happen since Marvel sold the right to do X-Men and Spiderman movie ( damn u Fox) but the nerd in me knows that would be the most epic of the epic super-hero movie ... probably a trilogy too.
Reply With Quote
  #2009  
Old 05-05-2012, 09:25 AM


Reply With Quote
  #2010  
Old 05-05-2012, 05:13 PM


Continuing the story of Richard and Khalen. I love this series.

Reread my copy of Tolkien's Letters which are invaluable sources of information.

Reply With Quote
  #2011  
Old 05-08-2012, 06:08 AM
Reply With Quote
  #2012  
Old 05-14-2012, 06:12 AM
Reply With Quote
  #2013  
Old 05-17-2012, 12:43 AM


Nocturnal - Scott Sigler

Highly recommend! 5/5

Here is the trailer if interested:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gUzE-jKnDWQ
Reply With Quote
  #2014  
Old 05-17-2012, 01:16 PM


If I didn't work so damn much in the past two weeks, I probably would have been done with this book a lot faster. I probably would have gotten finished in a week if not less. I had a very hard time putting it down and while at I was at work all I could think of was this.
Reply With Quote
  #2015  
Old 05-17-2012, 01:23 PM

Last edited by MidnightAngel; 05-17-2012 at 01:39 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2016  
Old 05-19-2012, 03:54 AM
BETWEEN THE BRIDGE AND THE RIVER by Craig Ferguson

Interesting storytelling dealing with death and false religion(s) mostly. Including the religion of Hollywood scandal. It had a strange narrative, some cool short stories told by many different characters and odd perspectives of what purgatory might be like.
I liked it but it was somewhat confusing to read every once in a while. It kind of jumped all over the place geographically, between characters and even the times it took place at.

6/10


THE WIND THROUGH THE KEYHOLE by Stephen King

Pretty good yarn, with a story within a story. Within a story. I liked it quite a bit.

8/10


THROTTLE (Kindle Single) By Joe Hill and Stephen King

Short but taught read "inspired by DUEL". So you know what it's about. This time it has a motorcycle gang under pursuit.

7/10
Reply With Quote
  #2017  
Old 05-19-2012, 05:06 AM
finished the graphic novel of Clive Barker's Hellraiser vol 1
Reply With Quote
  #2018  
Old 05-25-2012, 10:35 PM
Reply With Quote
  #2019  
Old 05-28-2012, 09:28 PM
THE LOST GATE by Orson Scott Card

Pretty good book. I was sad to find out it's yet ANOTHER "first volume" of a series. I was praying it was just going to be self-contained. However, it was a good read.

8/10


DUNE MESSIAH by Frank Herbert

It took me almost 20 years to finally finish this. I tried several times and never got more than 120 pages in. This time, I did read the whole thing. I liked it, but most of the awe and splendor of the first book is lost the second time around. The mythology is basically established, and there's not much that's "fresh" or "new" this time around.

7/10

CRUEL MIRACLES by Orson Scott Card
Excellent, lengthy introduction by Card. I loved it. Then, the short chapters - each their own story, I guess - started. And I hated it. I got about halfway through and decided to quit.
This is coming from someone that's read almost everything by Card and love his work. I know he's Mormon. It's completely obvious if you've read have his books (especially the SHIPS OF EARTH series, FOLK OF THE FRINGE, or a handful of other titles).

This was just.... I couldn't get into it at all.

2/10 (unfinished)
Reply With Quote
  #2020  
Old 06-01-2012, 06:59 PM
PATHFINDER by Orson Scott Card

You have to make ANOTHER goddamned volume one of a series, Mr. Card? Is it really necessary?
Also, it's another story about 'another earth' in which it was populated thousands of years earlier by a colony.... just like the SHIPS OF EARTH series, and several other of his storylines.
He's really losing his touch, this Orson guy.

I say the story was not too shabby until roughly halfway through, when he started going SUPER-DUPER overboard with character analyzing. "If I say this it actually means that. Did they do THIS because of that? If so, then does it really mean THIS?"
- He does this kind of shit all the time, but I was rarely as pissed with it as I was in this book. Then, he repeatedly did it for the rest of the book. He seriously needs a new editor; I could have cut out a good 100 pages of extra senseless dialog that was repeating events and/or ideas which were already explained or were self-explanatory.

5/10
Reply With Quote
  #2021  
Old 06-02-2012, 05:05 AM


Reply With Quote
  #2022  
Old 06-04-2012, 09:58 AM


Reply With Quote
  #2023  
Old 06-04-2012, 10:51 AM


Dust and Decay - Jonathan Maberry

4.5/5
Reply With Quote
  #2024  
Old 06-04-2012, 03:04 PM

7/10

For fans of Fantastic Voyage and The Shrinking Man will enjoy this novel. Sadly this is Michael Crichton's last novel he wrote but never finished.
Reply With Quote
  #2025  
Old 06-05-2012, 02:12 PM

5/10
Reply With Quote
  #2026  
Old 06-09-2012, 08:39 AM
Reply With Quote
  #2027  
Old 06-11-2012, 09:37 AM


4/5
Reply With Quote
  #2028  
Old 06-19-2012, 10:54 AM


My favorite out of the series so far.
Reply With Quote
  #2029  
Old 06-21-2012, 12:27 AM
finished Clive Barker's Hellraiser Vol 2 graphic novel and this

Reply With Quote
  #2030  
Old 06-25-2012, 07:29 PM
Reply With Quote
  #2031  
Old 06-28-2012, 12:35 PM
Second Variety by Philip K. Dick
Reply With Quote
  #2032  
Old 06-29-2012, 11:45 AM


4/5
Reply With Quote
  #2033  
Old 07-01-2012, 06:23 PM


I liked this book but it seems like Crichton wasn't quite finished with it before he passed away. It does kind of lake focus, it kind of seems all over the map. It reads almost more like a season of a television show as opposed to a novel that tells one cohesive story. With that said it is a fun adventure book.
Reply With Quote
  #2034  
Old 07-03-2012, 07:34 AM


Reply With Quote
  #2035  
Old 07-04-2012, 06:53 AM
Reply With Quote
  #2036  
Old 07-09-2012, 06:11 PM
Reply With Quote
  #2037  
Old 07-11-2012, 07:29 AM


^^^ the movie was way better

Reply With Quote
  #2038  
Old 07-17-2012, 10:07 PM
Reply With Quote
  #2039  
Old 07-23-2012, 03:01 PM


3.5/5



3.5/5

Last edited by ZMoney08; 07-23-2012 at 03:52 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2040  
Old 07-28-2012, 09:42 PM




Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump