Old 12-01-2006, 06:04 PM
Shakespeare

Ok, what's everyone's opinion on the Bard? I have a love/hate relationship with his works. Some of his stuff I think is great, while I can't stand others. The big problem I have with him is his dialouge. I know, his writing is consitered to be of the higest quality, but personally most of it gives me a headache. Saying that, I will say that I'm huge fan of his tragedy's. Titus, Macbeth, King Lear, Hamlet and Romeo and Julliet are all great. The one Im not quite sure of is Othello. Just finnished reading it, and although I loved the themes in it, and the story itself, a major portion of it bored me. What does eveyone else think?
Old 12-05-2006, 09:42 PM
I'm not very well read on Shakespeare (particularly his comedies, I'm not familiar with any of them) but I religiously praise "Hamlet" and adore "Romeo & Juliet".
Old 12-06-2006, 07:10 AM
I'm not an expert either but his writing is stunning. Even more so considering the time.

Romeo & Juliet is quite simply brilliant and rehashed in almost every story we see today.

As for his other books i'm a little ashamed to say I haven't read them.
Old 12-06-2006, 10:32 AM
I love his tragedies more so than his comedies, with Hamlet being the predictable list capper in that category. I love everything about that play -- the characters, the writing, the motivations, the tragic flaw that doesn't permit Hamlet to act at the right time, etc.

A lesser known play of his, Measure for Measure, also involves some devious plot schematics and potentially tragic events, but at the same time it's also one of Shakespeare's lighter efforts. An effortless mixture of the two genres.
Old 12-06-2006, 03:35 PM
He certainly hasn't written much lately.....
Old 12-07-2006, 03:45 AM
...writers block.
Old 12-09-2006, 01:22 PM
I never "got" Shakespeare until I saw Orson Welles perform a soliloquy--I was immediately hooked.