Old 06-19-2010, 07:09 AM
Toy Story 3 Review

(Lee Unkrich, 2010)

I’ve been reviewing movies for nearly seven years now, since late 2003. And every year, consistently, the review I look most forward to writing is the annual Pixar release. It’s become somewhat of a tradition for me to start off my Pixar reviews with the same sentence, and so here it is again, as it appeared in my reviews for The Incredibles, Ratatouille, Wall-E, and Up: Pixar never cease to amaze me. You’d think that by now, I of all people would take Pixar’s incomparable, inconceivable streak of quality for granted. And yet, the fact that the earlier statement remains relevant with each subsequent release is just further proof of just how daring and unafraid of taking risks this movie studio still is. After Disney’s buy-out of Pixar, the Mouse House backed down from their threats to produce a direct-to-DVD threequel to Toy Story without Pixar’s consent. It was a risky move on Pixar’s part to re-initiate the project and go forward with the film, considering what was at stake. Toy Story is and remains Pixar’s most popular and recognizable brand – it was their first film, a milestone in modern animation, the film that put them on the map, not to mention their only movie with a sequel (so far). Suffice to say that expectations were high, with legions of twenty-somethings hoping, praying that Pixar would do justice to the films they grew up on as children. I belong to this group, and I was anticipating the third film with equal measures of excitement and concern. As is often the case with Pixar films, the trailers for this film looked cute and endearing, but nothing in them indicated that this would be something really special. Well boy, was I wrong. After viewing the film, I honestly couldn’t have asked for a better conclusion to the trilogy.