Old 01-20-2004, 07:50 PM
My first book review: The Talisman.

I know Im not a pro reviewer but here it goes...
------

"The Talisman" (1981)

Written By:
Stephen King & Peter Straub.

Plot:
In order to save his worn out actress of a mother from a sudden death, Jack Sawyer must embark on a quest crossing America from side to side, to get a crystal globe known onlty as The Talisman. He will have to switch to an alternate reality called 'The Territories'. On his trail is his evil Uncle and one big array of monsters.

Review:
This will be the first book review I do, note that I will only review horror or horror fantasy books (like this one right here) and I'm a very slow reader so don't expect many reviews. And what better choice could I have done than to review my favorite book ever, let's get down to business now.

Walking into the bookstore, I had to face a choice: In my right hand, I had "The Talisman" and in my left hand, I had "Dreamcatcher", by the same autor...after an ordeal, I made the right choice and the second I hit home, I started. The very first few pages, had definitely drawn me into it's story like I rarely do. As opposed to "Black House" (the sequel to "The Talisman", which I will review eventually), this books narration writting is more taken by King than Straub himself and it shows. First off, I want to mention that this book has various elements I have always dug and they are well mixed, we have a quest, a very dark universe and even fucking werewolves (extremely cool ones at that). This story's horror starts quickly by setting a dark, brisk mood in the first chapter. The places and events are so very well detailed and explained that you have no choice than to join Jack in his adventure.