ARROW IN THE HEAD REVIEWS

001728
Search by title # A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Evil Dead (2013)
Written by: The Arrow
Director: Fede Alvarez

Starring:
Jane Levy/Mia
Shiloh Fernandez/David
Lou Taylor Pucci/Eric
Jessica Lucas/Olivia
PLOT-CRUNCH
A group of young folks bring junkie Mia (Jane Levy) to a remote cabin in the woods so she can take care of that heroin crisis cold turkey. Problem is who’s going to take care of that demonic possession ailment she eventually develops and spreads about? Paging Dr. Ash? Paging Dr. Ash?!!! The Doctor has left the building???? We’re f*cked!
THE LOWDOWN
The original THE EVIL DEAD (1981) means a lot to me as it was the first horror movie I ever saw. I’ll always remember it! I went up to a cabin in the woods (yeah, no shit) with my friend and his mom for a weekend. At night, while my bud’s mom was counting dead sheep, we snuck into the basement and watched the taboo movie, on VHS no less. It scared the Night of the Living Shite out of me. To the point that I couldn’t sleep a wink that night. The film severely marked me back then and it sent me on my horror journey! I never looked back.

So yeah, when an EVIL DEAD remake was first announced my reaction to it was simple and straight from the heart: F-U! Then Diablo “Juno” Cody’s name was bomb dropped as one of the screenwriters! Again... F-U! Then it was said that Ash was going to be a broad… F-U! Afterwards they changed their tune, there would be no Ash at all, which actually worked for me. There’s only one Ash and that’s Bruce Campbell, trying to replace/re-cast him is suicide, pure and simple. But even with that tidbit of good new, I still wanted NOTHING to do with this movie until the Red Band trailer gored the net and got me excited. So did it live up to my high expectations? YOU BET!

The EVIL DEAD 2013 somewhat took a cue from what they did with THE EVIL DEAD II (1987). It told its own story while heavily winking at the original (Yes Sam Raimi’s first car, his 1973 Oldsmobile Delta 88, showed up again here, nice!). So although the set up was déjà vu (kids in cabin – book is read – possession ensues), the picture played its own warped game and wound up coming off as a modern sequel instead of a cash-in remake. And that’s what made it fun to watch for me! It was a new tale set in EVIL DEAD land! From the sly initial premise (having the kids be in the woods to help their friend kick a smack addiction was genius, once she starts having Demon symptoms, they confuse those with withdrawal), to a chain of events that was fairly different than the original hence having me by the balls, to a last act that went buck nuts with the zany ideas and plot turns, this one kept me on my chopped off toes! This update even went as far as defining some elements that were vague in the original trilogy. For example: the possessions here went down because they were transmitted via exchange of bodily fluids (like a Zombie movie) and the WHY behind the book and its shenanigans were expended upon further as well.

So basically, this update on THE EVIL DEAD owed as much to Lamberto Bava’s DEMONS (the blood shed, the way the possessed behaved and how the possession was spread) and THE EXORCIST (the raunchy things that would come out of the demons yappers) than it did to the original THE EVIL DEAD. Visually, Fede Alvarez (who is obviously a huge The Evil Dead fan and connoisseur) did a wonderful job in his feature length directorial debut (he had only directed shorts before). His camera work was less kinetic than Raimi’s but still stylized and heavy on the crazy angles. I personally adored how he would use sudden silence to accentuate creepy moment. The ploy worked on my ass! And purists fear not, the famous Evil Dead demon POV shot was in the house! It didn’t carry the same weight though; they didn’t use the same sound effect behind it which was 50% of the reason as to why it was scary in the original films (in my useless opinion of course). Speaking of fear, I didn’t think that this re-do had enough of it. Sure there were some moments of tension here and there but not as much as I thought there would be. The way I see it, it won’t really frighten hardcore horror fans, but mainstream audiences will be shitting bricks and building a house. What the film did have in spades though was cringe inducing gore!

Kudos for having the FANTASTIC special effects done in camera by way of practical effects (some were created by WETA who worked on Peter Jackson’s 1992 splatter flick Dead Alive). Although there was some random CGI (fire), when it came to the red chunky grub, they kept it honest hence upping the impact of said grisly scenes. The level of depravity that was reached here was esteemed by yours truly! I loved being grossed out by this flick! Respect! Add to all that horror love some decent performances (Jane Levy in particular really brought it, loved her "you have to get me out of here" speech and Shiloh Fernandez was also solid, too bad the script worked against him at times though), efficient circumstantial humor and a sombre score by Roque Banos that hit the H spot and you get a gore-coaster ride that delivered the goods! I didn't want to get off or for it to end!

On the flip-side, ironically enough this update sported some of the same problems the original had. Most of the characters were undeveloped, resulting in some of them exuding the same presence as one of the props (Elizabeth Blackmore's Natalie was the primo example of that). Then there was the glaring dumb ass moves to serve the plot. At least two of them evoked “COME ON!” in my hollow noggin. You believe in black magic and voodoo, you know about it, you see all the WARNINGS written in the book - WHY read it out-loud again? Duh! And what will it take for so and so to finally ACCEPT that Mia is possessed? Shit, open your eyes, whack the dame or get the f*ck out of there pronto! Lastly some of dialogue felt “off” and resulted in some unintentional laughter from yours truly. Nothing too major but yeah...

With that stabbed and carved upwards, I’m the kind of dude that can let go of hick-ups in a film if the ride comes through, and that was the case here. I had a BLAST with this new EVIL DEAD movie and its boo-boos didn’t come close in tarnishing the fun times it gunned my way! All that matters to me! To quote the movie: “Feast on this, motherf*cker!”
GORE
I don’t want to spoil the gore gags too much as they are the main reason to see the movie. But yeah, BUCKETS of blood, cut off limbs, self mutilations, nail gun fun… you dig down and dirty gory? You will be well served here!
T & A
It’s a demon party! No time for love Dr. Jones!
BOTTOM LINE
EVIL DEAD 2013 met my high expectations! It was visually macabre sweet, sported some tension, fabulous practical makeup effects and INSANE wince inducing gore that may send the casual horror fan out the theater running for mommy. More importantly, the film told its own story and came across as part of the EVIL DEAD franchise instead of reeking of a copy and paste cash grab for peeps that can't take in an old movie. Yeah characterization was on the low jive, dumb moves to serve the plot were on hand and some of the dialogue was flatter than Kristen Stewart’s chest, but overall revisiting the world of EVIL DEAD was a diabolical pleasure for me! Now all we need is for an older Ash to return to the franchise and all will be golden. It would work! Hail to the King baby! Am seeing this one again!
BULL'S EYE
Stay tuned till after the end credits, we get a little surprise.

Look out for a nod to the poster of the original film.

Bruce Campbell was one of the producers.

They used Ellen Sandweiss's voice (Cheryl from the original The Evil Dead) in this one's sound design.

Lily Collins was first cast as Mia but then dropped out for unknown reasons (to me anyways).

The first letters of the main characters names: David, Eric, Mia, Olivia and Natalie, spell out Demon.
Strikeback
Not registered? Sign-up!
Or

4:42AM on 07/20/2013

Demons with the mobility of an arthritic grandma

Stylistic gore flick the kids will dig, but I suspect most of us old timers who worshiped the original will be disappointed. Lackluster acting, poor attempt at character development (why bother?), not scary in the least and I watched it alone in the dark with a set of Sony MDR headphones turned up really loud! I must mention how much I hated how the possessed acted here (slow, rigid, awkward Japanese horror-style) Seriously, evil moves lightning fast through the woods (pov camera) but when it
Stylistic gore flick the kids will dig, but I suspect most of us old timers who worshiped the original will be disappointed. Lackluster acting, poor attempt at character development (why bother?), not scary in the least and I watched it alone in the dark with a set of Sony MDR headphones turned up really loud! I must mention how much I hated how the possessed acted here (slow, rigid, awkward Japanese horror-style) Seriously, evil moves lightning fast through the woods (pov camera) but when it inhabits a human body it has the mobility of an arthritic grandma? One minute cars and people are being thrown around, the next a demon can barely unzip its pants to take a shit? This imbalance didn't work at all for me and really took me out of the action. I would of liked this movie more if it was called ''Evil Dead Japanese Grandmas.''
Your Reply:



5:01AM on 07/20/2013
10:28AM on 04/23/2013

watch it again!

I enjoyed ir on the big screen but really loved ir a lot more 2nd time around so I'd advise anyone to give it a 2nd shot
I enjoyed ir on the big screen but really loved ir a lot more 2nd time around so I'd advise anyone to give it a 2nd shot
Your Reply:



12:53PM on 04/15/2013

it is over rated guys

As a straight up stand alone horror film, not called "Evil Dead", i would have liked this more. But they try to give so much backstory to characters you just don't care about. the original evil dead didn't do that, they were just a bunch of teens getting butchered. The movie didn't add anything new to the mythos, which would have been a welcome distraction. I'd much, much, much rather know about the history of the Necronomicon than Mia's mommy issues. It's not a bad movie by any means, but
As a straight up stand alone horror film, not called "Evil Dead", i would have liked this more. But they try to give so much backstory to characters you just don't care about. the original evil dead didn't do that, they were just a bunch of teens getting butchered. The movie didn't add anything new to the mythos, which would have been a welcome distraction. I'd much, much, much rather know about the history of the Necronomicon than Mia's mommy issues. It's not a bad movie by any means, but if this is the best that Raimi and Bruce think they can give us, they're sorely wrong. Drag Me to Hell was 100 times better than this in every way.
Your Reply:



9:50AM on 04/15/2013

I enjoyed it

The first time I heard the were remaking Evil Dead, I was like most fans of the original.... WTF?!!!.. Not that I have a problem with remakes or reboots, I just didn't think it was necessary but when I heard Sam Raimi, Rob Tapert and Bruce 'The Chin' Campbell (the original star of Evil Dead btw) , and when I saw the trailer, I got on board in a big way. So did it live up to my hopes ? Hell Yeah it did!

THIS is what a horror movie is suppose to be folks. Solid acting? Check! Intense and
The first time I heard the were remaking Evil Dead, I was like most fans of the original.... WTF?!!!.. Not that I have a problem with remakes or reboots, I just didn't think it was necessary but when I heard Sam Raimi, Rob Tapert and Bruce 'The Chin' Campbell (the original star of Evil Dead btw) , and when I saw the trailer, I got on board in a big way. So did it live up to my hopes ? Hell Yeah it did!

THIS is what a horror movie is suppose to be folks. Solid acting? Check! Intense and Creepy Vibe ? Check & Check! A crap load of gore ? CHECK!!!!. Evil Dead delivered and then some. Let's start with the actors.
With the exception of Jane Levy (who I adore from SURBURGATORY) and Jessica Lucas (CLOVERFIELD), I didn't really know these guys, and that was okay. Sometimes it helps to have unknowns as you become totally invested in who they are in this movie and you don't keep comparing them to what came before. Jane Levy really blew me away. The only comparison I had was her turns in Suburgatory and a little Nickelodeon flick called Fun-Size, so you can see this was a complete 180,from those roles and boy did she bring it! She was totally believable and I felt for her the entire way through. Jessica Lucas, Lou Taylor Pucci and Elizabeth Blackmore all gave great performances as well, which made it so much harder to watch them go through hell (literally). Shiloh Fernandez was on and off for me. I had to be patient with him as some of his characters decisions were borderline dumb-ass and sometimes he didn't bring the emotions I would've expected in these scenarios, but he does redeem himself as the movie goes on.

But let's get to the good stuff. The horror! oh THE HORROR! Cringe worthy , jump worthy and everything in between. I was hollering at the screen when the stuff got good and even an old horror Jedi like myself was caught off guard a few times. The camera work was excellent too and we get some sweet nods to the original, which had me grinning like an idiot.

Now I will admit the original is scarier. Somehow, even with less gore and a smaller budget, it was and still is an intense viewing with Bruce Campbell taking us all the way with him into insanity. There is NO WAY you go through this shit and come out normal on the other side. This Evil Dead walked that line, but didn't quite cross it but I appreciated it no less

Much props to Director Fede Alvarez and screenplay writer Rodo Sagues. Their love for the original story is so apparent in this remake and their is nothing better than when a fan and a lover for the genre, gets to express themselves on screen. Kudos mi amigos!

You love horror, your gonna like Evil Dead 2013. Not perfect but a definitely solid entry and a sweet send up to the original.
Your Reply:



10:58AM on 04/09/2013

Somewhat Disappointed

I must say, I'm very disappointed with this film. I'm usually able to get past the flaws, but this one really bothered me. The 'creepiness factor' was completely stale and for me, it sucked the life out the film. What made the original so scary was the atmosphere generated by the cabin and the woods. The lack of character development and bad acting was also a let down. I do realize that the original also had some undeveloped character moments, but at least I felt attachment to those characters.
I must say, I'm very disappointed with this film. I'm usually able to get past the flaws, but this one really bothered me. The 'creepiness factor' was completely stale and for me, it sucked the life out the film. What made the original so scary was the atmosphere generated by the cabin and the woods. The lack of character development and bad acting was also a let down. I do realize that the original also had some undeveloped character moments, but at least I felt attachment to those characters. I didn't care about any of the peeps in this version. It wasn't a horrible film, but it could've been much more.

Oh, those last ten minutes were probably the best. It's too bad the rest of the film didn't have the suspense that last half had to offer.
Your Reply:



10:47AM on 04/08/2013

Looks great!

Solid review, can't wait to see this!
Solid review, can't wait to see this!
Your Reply:



+3
10:29AM on 04/08/2013

Awesome

I think if you see it again, this is going to be one you change your review. To me, this movie was a 4! It was so good that I can ignore the few things that I had a problem with it and still give it a 4.. I can't wait to see it again.
I think if you see it again, this is going to be one you change your review. To me, this movie was a 4! It was so good that I can ignore the few things that I had a problem with it and still give it a 4.. I can't wait to see it again.
Your Reply:



9:55PM on 04/06/2013

Not what I was hoping for

I read all the reviews prior to going into this and from what I saw the audience was split. I had been waiting forever for a remake or sequel to show up and was eagerly awaiting this. I even made a bunch of classmates watch the original just so I could take them all to see this one. What I got was a mess.
I liked the initial premise, with the strung out girl trying to quit cold-turkey (totally worked for the whole is she possessed or just withdrawing), although there are only so many times you
I read all the reviews prior to going into this and from what I saw the audience was split. I had been waiting forever for a remake or sequel to show up and was eagerly awaiting this. I even made a bunch of classmates watch the original just so I could take them all to see this one. What I got was a mess.
I liked the initial premise, with the strung out girl trying to quit cold-turkey (totally worked for the whole is she possessed or just withdrawing), although there are only so many times you can justify the crazy shenanigans with drugs. Next off was it just me or was the acting, not only bad but GOD AWFUL! The leading man did not have ANYTHING going for him. He was garbage. Mia was alright as the junkie, however the only real character I liked was the school teacher.
Arrow is right about the characters making dumb moves and going "COME ON", but it wasn't only a couple times. It was every 5 seconds, especially with the main character. Plus we have the possessed which don't really do anything and go down fairly easy, that is until the cellar scene in where the demon is all of a sudden super strong and throwing our hero around like a ragdoll.
Next is the direction. Clearly they tried to ressurrect(pun?) some of the original direction and camera work, although none of it seemed to work here. The demon roaming the forest shots were not even as close to effective as they once were.
How about the demons themselves? While Arrow liked the whole bodily fluid possession thing, I thought it was cliche and weak. Part of the original scariness was 'whos next?' Not to mention how the demons in the remake were out to kill kill kill, whereas it was much more creepy and effective in the original with them giggling and toying with our characters.
Speaking of creepy, where was the genuine terror in this film? I laughed most of the time, and of course giggled like a school girl when the gore hit the fan. But not even close to scary. Although I feel the general masses will eat this one up.
All in all I had a good time, but in the vain of Arrow this movie was dumber than the 2-bit whore down the street.
Your Reply:



-3
6:49PM on 04/06/2013

Saw a sneak preview Tuesday

You can read my review of "Evil Dead" here - [link]
You can read my review of "Evil Dead" here - [link]
Your Reply:



11:22PM on 04/05/2013

saw it tonight

loved it, though not all of it. there's a "plot development" at the end that goes against the whole rest of the movie and that was kind of a bummer. and yet, even after that, the film offers up fun and craziness, so i got over it. overall, it's truly an experience that reminded more of my first time seeing the exorcist than the first time with the original ED. disturbing, compelling, bat-shit crazy and bold.
loved it, though not all of it. there's a "plot development" at the end that goes against the whole rest of the movie and that was kind of a bummer. and yet, even after that, the film offers up fun and craziness, so i got over it. overall, it's truly an experience that reminded more of my first time seeing the exorcist than the first time with the original ED. disturbing, compelling, bat-shit crazy and bold.
Your Reply:



11:22PM on 04/05/2013
The movie was amazing. Everything that was said in Arrow's review I can agree with. The gore, the casting, etc. All were good in my book and you can bet your Necronomicon that I'll be seeing this again.
The movie was amazing. Everything that was said in Arrow's review I can agree with. The gore, the casting, etc. All were good in my book and you can bet your Necronomicon that I'll be seeing this again.
Your Reply:



11:18AM on 04/05/2013
It was really good though I agree with some of the action sloppily serving the plot, especially when it came to the possessed Mia. Two characters were stupid in that regard. I loved the gore and the acting. Overall, it was a great time. :)
It was really good though I agree with some of the action sloppily serving the plot, especially when it came to the possessed Mia. Two characters were stupid in that regard. I loved the gore and the acting. Overall, it was a great time. :)
Your Reply:



-27
11:47AM on 04/04/2013
My rating is 0 because I haven't seen it yet. However, with scores from Joblo, Arrow, and reviews on Rottentomatoes, I'm so hyped to watch the movie.
My rating is 0 because I haven't seen it yet. However, with scores from Joblo, Arrow, and reviews on Rottentomatoes, I'm so hyped to watch the movie.
Your Reply:



6:51AM on 04/05/2013
I rate your comment a 0 because it\'s dumb.

However, as far as the movie goes, I\'ve seen it as well and this review is spot on. Lot\'s of gore, pretty cool story, and a couple of duh what are you doing moments....I loved it.
I rate your comment a 0 because it\'s dumb.

However, as far as the movie goes, I\'ve seen it as well and this review is spot on. Lot\'s of gore, pretty cool story, and a couple of duh what are you doing moments....I loved it.

Mistress Of The Week

More
Vikander, Alicia