×

ARROW IN THE HEAD REVIEWS

002174
Search by title # A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Halloween: H2O (1998)
Written by: The Arrow
Director: Steve Miner

Starring:
Jamie Lee Curtis/Laurie Strode
Josh Hartnett/John
LL Cool J/Ronny
Michelle Williams/Molly
4 10
PLOT-CRUNCH
Halloween 4-5-6 are discarded and this one takes place 20 years after the second one. Laurie Strode (Curtis) now in the witness relocation program and head mistress of a posh school has become one messed up woman. She drinks like a sailor, swears like a truck driver and is one paranoid mess. Her young son John (Hartnett) takes care of her but he’s getting fed up with her shite and just wants to go on with his life. Just when Laurie decides to chill out and give her son some space, uncle Michael comes to town with his bag of goodies. He’s ready to spread the love.
THE LOWDOWN
This movie is what would happen if Michael Myers would walk on the set of Dawson’s Creek. It looks and feels like that darn TV show. To calm down some of my readers I will say I have nothing against Dawson’s Creek but it has jack all to do with horror flicks. This movie has two things going for it. 1: The relationship between Laurie and John. 2: 15 minutes of suspense at the end. What could have been a good movie is ruined by (I suspect) "one trick pony" Kevin Williamson who did a polish on the script. This is not supposed to be a "Scream" movie, it’s a Halloween movie you dummy. I don't want winks about other horror flicks (mainly Psycho) I want suspense, mystery…horror goddamn it! We have one teen from Dawson’s Creek (Williams), another from Can’t Hardly Wait (Hann-Byrd), LL Cool J (he’s funny but what the f…k is he doing in a Halloween flick) and the absence of Donald Pleasence (not their fault, he’s dead). All those players contribute to making this movie everything but a true "Halloween" movie. Is this the future of horror…making references to better movies, having little in jokes, getting the teen of the month to star in it? I hope this crap dies down and Williamson goes back to selling hot-dogs. The original Scream was good, the references original but now it’s played out. This is not a true Halloween film. Kiss my knife.
GORE
Weak…but Michael really gives it to Jody Lyn O’ Keefe, ouch…I guess Mike also saw "She’s All That".
ACTING
Jamie Lee Curtis (Laurie) and Josh Hartnett (John) have great chemistry together and give credible performances. LL Cool J (Ronny) is the comic relief (again), Michelle Williams (Molly) lets her cute face do the acting, Jodi Lyn O’ Keefe (Sarah) dies well, Adam Hann-Byrd (Charlie) is hard to look at, his character is all about sex and there’s no way a girl that looks like O Keefe would date him…weird casting. Janet Leigh (Norma…come on) has a cameo. (she was the shower victim in the original Psycho and Curtis’s mom). Nancy Stephens (Marion) comes back (she’s in the first two) only to be killed off quick.
T & A
Nudity is not in "the new teens" contracts. LL Cool J could have at least shown his ass or something.
DIRECTING
Steve Miner knows a thing or two about horror flicks (directed Friday The 13th 2-3 and Warlock), too bad he only remembered them in the last 15 minutes of the film.
SOUNDTRACK
Reworking of Carpenter’s score, wasted on this poser crap. Why didn’t they put some hip hop or some Britney Spears???
BOTTOM LINE
I know I’m hard on this one but I love "The Shape" and I hate to see him become an "Egg Mc Muffin" or a "Clearasil" tube. The movie does have good production values and some tension in the end but it has nothing to do with the spirit of "Halloween". They took the Michael Myers character and packaged him in a commercial teen flick. Hardly anybody dies in this one, it’s full of fake scares, scenes that lead nowhere and it reeks of Williamson. If I want to see the car Janet Leigh drove in "Psycho", I’ll rent Psycho. Williamson go do a sequel to Teaching Mrs. Tingle you bum (I’m so happy it bombed) and leave Michael Myers alone!!!
BULL'S EYE
I hear another sequel is on the way.

What's with the tag line: Blood is thicker than water. Even that’s a joke (H20…get it?) urgh…

Why don’t they get Freddie Prinze Jr to play The Shape in the next one?
Strikeback
Not registered? Sign-up!
Or

12:28PM on 10/25/2012
Strongly disagree here, particularly considering the reviewer game 4 and 6 better reviews than this. Those films are terrible. This is a well crafted and exciting slasher that pays respect to Laurie and Michael and ends on a good note. To each their own, I suppose. But 6 is really fucking terrible.
Strongly disagree here, particularly considering the reviewer game 4 and 6 better reviews than this. Those films are terrible. This is a well crafted and exciting slasher that pays respect to Laurie and Michael and ends on a good note. To each their own, I suppose. But 6 is really fucking terrible.
Your Reply:



6:20PM on 06/16/2011
i like the janet leigh/psycho car scene. jlc is pretty good. the rest of the movie sucks.
i like the janet leigh/psycho car scene. jlc is pretty good. the rest of the movie sucks.
Your Reply:



5:28PM on 03/13/2010

Flawed but an surprisingly good sequel.

This one ignores the previous sequels expect "Halloween 2", of course.

Jamie Lee Curtis (Prom Night) is terrific in this movie (Although i wish, she had a little more scenes in the picture). Josh Hartnett (30 Days of Night) is good as Laurie`s son. Adam Arkin (Lake Placid) does well as Laurie`s boyfriend.

This one has some suspenseful and a few good shock moments. Director Steve Miner, who knows a thing or two about slasher movies. Since he directed the better "Friday the 13th" movies,
This one ignores the previous sequels expect "Halloween 2", of course.

Jamie Lee Curtis (Prom Night) is terrific in this movie (Although i wish, she had a little more scenes in the picture). Josh Hartnett (30 Days of Night) is good as Laurie`s son. Adam Arkin (Lake Placid) does well as Laurie`s boyfriend.

This one has some suspenseful and a few good shock moments. Director Steve Miner, who knows a thing or two about slasher movies. Since he directed the better "Friday the 13th" movies, which is part 2 and 3.

There`s some minor complains, i have nothing against LL Cool J (Mindhunters). But he seems out of place as a security guard/chessy wannabe soft-core romantic writer. Also the movie should been more complex, it could use another 10 or 20 minutes in the movie.

The highlights are Janet Leigh in a small part, which it has extra laughs for those... who loved her in "Psycho". Joseph-Gordon Levitt (Killshot) in a amusing small part in the beginning of the movie. For "Halloween" fans, Nancy Stephens (Who is married to Rick Rosenthal, who directed the somewhat underrated "Halloween 2" and the intentionally silly [link]") in a small part in the opening sequence as well.

Overall, "Halloween:20 Years Later" is a good movie. It is fun for the original fans for the first and second movie.
Your Reply:



3:42PM on 01/21/2009
This ones ok, but I agree mainly with Arrow. At least they disregarded the last few in the series.
This ones ok, but I agree mainly with Arrow. At least they disregarded the last few in the series.
Your Reply:



10:18PM on 10/24/2008
I really like this one. Along with the first 2 its the only worth while Halloween film. Its still about Laurie Strode and Michael and not about the group of teens at all. It could have been a bit more atmospheric, but other than that it was the perfect end to the series until they fucked it up royally with Resurrection.
I really like this one. Along with the first 2 its the only worth while Halloween film. Its still about Laurie Strode and Michael and not about the group of teens at all. It could have been a bit more atmospheric, but other than that it was the perfect end to the series until they fucked it up royally with Resurrection.
Your Reply:



2:58PM on 06/20/2008

Way harsh review on this one. Halloween 5&6 were both pieces of shit. I am glad they disregarded that story line. Michael was getting laughable. I LOVED the ending to this..exactly how the Halloween franchise should have ended with Laurie chopping his fuckin head off! (I was even yelling at the screen "Chop his freakin head off!) And I am at a loss that you have rated Ressurection higher? That movi3e blew on soo many levels..Busta Rhymes going kung fu on Michael..WTF!? I act like that one

Way harsh review on this one. Halloween 5&6 were both pieces of shit. I am glad they disregarded that story line. Michael was getting laughable. I LOVED the ending to this..exactly how the Halloween franchise should have ended with Laurie chopping his fuckin head off! (I was even yelling at the screen "Chop his freakin head off!) And I am at a loss that you have rated Ressurection higher? That movi3e blew on soo many levels..Busta Rhymes going kung fu on Michael..WTF!? I act like that one doesn't exist and let this be the end of the franchise. H1,2,& 4 were good and this one is just as good IMHO. Zombie's remake...I can't even talk about that atrocity.
Your Reply:



2:08PM on 04/28/2008

1.5?

Harsh rating. H20 is not that bad of a movie. How in gods name does resurrection have a higher rating than H20?
Harsh rating. H20 is not that bad of a movie. How in gods name does resurrection have a higher rating than H20?
Your Reply:



-1
9:47PM on 02/15/2008

Slice of fried gold...

I completely agree with this review, especially after letting the flick settle in over time.
I completely agree with this review, especially after letting the flick settle in over time.
Your Reply:



1:03PM on 09/04/2007

FTW H20 is good!

I have no idea what you are talking about Arrow. H20 is a really good sequel, and a pretty good, entertaining, suspenseful movie.

I don't see why you complain about not enough people dieing in this movie. Seven people die in this movie. Uhm only five people die in the original...? So not only were there more kills in this one than there were in the original, but the kills were also gorier than the originals. Also, the ending was great, and should have ended the series, but it was all ruined
I have no idea what you are talking about Arrow. H20 is a really good sequel, and a pretty good, entertaining, suspenseful movie.

I don't see why you complain about not enough people dieing in this movie. Seven people die in this movie. Uhm only five people die in the original...? So not only were there more kills in this one than there were in the original, but the kills were also gorier than the originals. Also, the ending was great, and should have ended the series, but it was all ruined by the terrible follow up, "Halloween: Resurrection".

I feel H20 was about five times better than the new remake by Rob Zombie, which had TOO MANY deaths that were all just crammed together and put in there for no reason. And plus all the deaths in the new remake suck.

I also don't understand why you bash Kevin Williamson. Scream was a fucking classic, and this was pretty good. I haven't seen Teaching Ms. Tingle though.
Your Reply:



2:08AM on 07/11/2007

H20 IS THE ONLY GOOD HALLOWEEN SEQUEL

I must disagree with this review. I love Halloween; it's my favorite horror film of all. There was actually no need for any sequels whatsoever - the film is complete in itself. H20, however is the only sequel that doesn't give me a headache. It's great fun for a fan of the original. The other Halloween sequels display a mind- boggling drop in quality from the original. H20 - while certainly different in tone and style from Halloween - is the only sequel that has half a brain. And its
I must disagree with this review. I love Halloween; it's my favorite horror film of all. There was actually no need for any sequels whatsoever - the film is complete in itself. H20, however is the only sequel that doesn't give me a headache. It's great fun for a fan of the original. The other Halloween sequels display a mind- boggling drop in quality from the original. H20 - while certainly different in tone and style from Halloween - is the only sequel that has half a brain. And its ending kicks ass...
Your Reply:



+0
8:58PM on 08/13/2006

Better then Most of the other Halloween sequels

I usually always agree with Mr. Arrow. Here I do not. I have never understood how so many sing the praises of Halloween 4 with it's NO NECK Michael Myers and complain about this film. This is the best Michael performance since the first film and perhaps the best Sequel. This feels nothing like a Dawson's Creek episode. I usually feel
like vomiting at least once when that show is on. Here I feel no need to blow Chunks. this film starts off a little slow but the last half hour is some good
I usually always agree with Mr. Arrow. Here I do not. I have never understood how so many sing the praises of Halloween 4 with it's NO NECK Michael Myers and complain about this film. This is the best Michael performance since the first film and perhaps the best Sequel. This feels nothing like a Dawson's Creek episode. I usually feel
like vomiting at least once when that show is on. Here I feel no need to blow Chunks. this film starts off a little slow but the last half hour is some good stuff. Anyways thats just MHO.
Your Reply:



11:16PM on 07/27/2006

The last half is good

Let's face it, the "Halloween" franchise needed an enema (it's getting another one thankfully), however this one feels too much like a teenage scary movie, like "I Know What You Did Last Summer" or some crap. However I'd be lying if I said I wasn't entertained by most of it. I thought they fucked up Laurie Strode though by making her a boozing mother-bird. The first half is pretty boring, where as I dug the last half.
Let's face it, the "Halloween" franchise needed an enema (it's getting another one thankfully), however this one feels too much like a teenage scary movie, like "I Know What You Did Last Summer" or some crap. However I'd be lying if I said I wasn't entertained by most of it. I thought they fucked up Laurie Strode though by making her a boozing mother-bird. The first half is pretty boring, where as I dug the last half.
Your Reply:



Featured Youtube Videos

Views and Counting

Mistress Of The Week

More