ARROW IN THE HEAD REVIEWS

002031
Search by title # A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Paranormal Activity 2 (2010)
Written by: The Arrow
Director: Tod Williams

Starring:
Katie Featherston/Katie
Micah Sloat/Micah
2 10
PLOT-CRUNCH
After an apparent break in in their new house, a family installs security cameras all over the place and then go on to LIVE THEIR LIVES with camcorders in their hands. With all that filming, they eventually figure out that there's something else in that pad with them and its not Burt Reynolds or A.J. Bowen. Bummer for them...
THE LOWDOWN
I guess the PARANORMAL ACTIVITY franchise is a love it or hate it - get it or don't affair. I was actually in the middle with the first flick; it had a handful of genuine frights, wrapped up in plot holes and uneven acting.... but I had an “okay” time with it. The movie broke bank and now we got a prequel cum sequel to deal with. Did it better the original? Not for this twat. Like...AT ALL!

Here are 10 things that I learned from watching PARABOREDOM ACTIVITY 2.

WARNING SOME SPOILERS AHEAD. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. SORRY, THIS TIME, I COULDN'T WRITE MY DRIVEL WITHOUT THEM.

1- When you do a sequel to a successful horror movie that has NOTHING left to say, do the same thing all over again but with a baby, a dog and a teenage gal.

2- When you move into a new house, you film the shit out of the event, and when there is a break in , you have security cameras installed (fair enough) and you then proceed to live your life with a camcorder stapled to your hand (???)...shit somebody even sleeps with one at some point... COME ON! NOTE: Didn't know they had such good HD cams in 2006, the time the film was set in.

3- Security cameras record sound (They do!?), fast forward by themselves and love to do them nifty jump cuts to provoke "raccord" mistakes.

4- If shit is a pinch fishy in your house, surf the net and in a micro second come to the conclusion that its Satan himself at play. I mean hey, every 15 year old girl out there would think of old scratch first right? In this day and age Lucifer is so mainstream its not even funny. He's down with the teenies! I heard he even has his own hip hop album...

5- If the cabinets in your house ALL SLAM OPEN by themselves, obviously prompted by an unseen force, don't leave the house, hop in the car and speed away with your baby, just close the cabinet doors and wait for the next demon attack. Its the smart thing to do.

6- The devil and family curses are a regular part of life, hence believing in them is effortless and not batting an eye when a demon messes with ya is normal. Hey, the way this film sees it is this: you have money, Satan must have been involved... it's a given... that sly bastard...el Diablo knows how to bank!

7- No matter the amount of screen time Micah has (and here it was limited), he's just freaking annoying.

8- F*cking over a loved family member in the name of saving your own ass is all good... not a problem. No guilt, no second thoughts, no remorse. And I am supposed to like these people?

9- Satan LOVES and I mean LOVES toying around with pool cleaning machines. I mean he's Satan what else is he gonna do right?

10- When you are 169% certain that your house is possessed, don't leave, don't even call a priest, dial up that Mexican house keeper, she'll clean the f*cking mess up...puneta...

Yup as you may have noticed, I loathed this idiotic and half thought out sequel. They didn't even bother to TRY to justify the constant filming; shit sometimes somebody was filming and I had no idea who it was. The neighbor? The local crack whore? Crusty the Clown? Who knows? Moreover, nothing happened for like the first hour (if I see one more shot of a pool or hear another baby crying sound... I'll kill my stuffed animal Ki-Ki) and when the scares finally kicked in, they were so see through (except for one) and as limp as me after a bottle of JD. The first film got me a couple of times...this one...NATHING. And don't get me started on the trite and dumb-dumb explanation they came up with to back up the haunting. WOW. That was weak sauce to say the least. Plot holes galore, stupid moves to serve the plot and a pacing that almost put me 6 feet underground, this turkey deserved a beheading.

Any positives to spew? Well the acting was okay with the gal playing the teen daughter blowing everybody out of the water performance wise. Katie Featherston's ba-boom whip cream worthy cleavage looked swell, the dog whimpered credibly and when the flick stopped acting like a prequel and kicked into sequel mode, it kinda got my attention but by that time it was too little to late. Yup, slap me in the “I don't get it” crowd, I know PARANORMAL ACTIVITY 2 is getting good word of yapper and broke bank on Friday... but straight up...for me... this was one of the dumbest, half-cocked and blandest horror flicks I've seen this year. F*ck this movie for wasting my time twice – via seeing it and now writing about it. PHEWEY! I spit on thee!
GORE
I slit my right wrist during my watch, just so I could feel something. I bled a lot...I guess that's gore right?
T & A
Katie Featherston mammoth cleavage kept calling my name, and the beast in my chinos kept answering.
BOTTOM LINE
PARANORMAL ACTIVITY 2 was a tedious, no scares, zero IQ and LAZY horror movie that didn't bother to justify in a credible fashion why peeps stayed in a house that kept threatening them and why they had camcorders on them 24/7. It also sported obvious fear ploys and a cliched and weak sauce WHY behind it all that so grated me it wasn't even funny. Sometimes NOT having an explanation is the best way to go (just ask Michael Myers and them damn Druids circa Halloween 6) and this was one of them times. The acting was aight and the last 5 minutes woke me up but one the whole I am so ANGRY that I wasted time and money on such a piece of shit. I know lots of peeps loved it, good for them, I mean it, all the power to yall who dug it, I didn't and it sucks for me. Maybe if it would have scared me like the original did at times, I would have forgiven it for being so dumb and snore inducing. To be honest, I am now anxious to forget all about it, which will happen in 5, 4, 3, 2, 1...what movie am I talking about again? Ah yeah... Kubrick's The Shining...
BULL'S EYE
Michael R. Perry (Millenium TV show) wrote the script.

Brian DePalma was up to direct this at some point, but Tod Williams finally got the gig.
Strikeback
Not registered? Sign-up!
Or

3:39PM on 10/20/2011
I finally saw this film, and I have to say I'm inbetween the haters and the lovers. I thought the movie was just OKAY. I liked the first film a lot (3/4) but this one was just eh. I liked the mom and daughter, but the father was a fuckin' moron and there were just too many dumb moves. Plus there were some interesting ideas that were not utilized to their fullest (mom being possessed) and the first half wasn't a slow burn - it was just boring. The last act was good and the final scene was
I finally saw this film, and I have to say I'm inbetween the haters and the lovers. I thought the movie was just OKAY. I liked the first film a lot (3/4) but this one was just eh. I liked the mom and daughter, but the father was a fuckin' moron and there were just too many dumb moves. Plus there were some interesting ideas that were not utilized to their fullest (mom being possessed) and the first half wasn't a slow burn - it was just boring. The last act was good and the final scene was creepy.
Your Reply:



8:31PM on 02/18/2011

Nearly as good as the original.

This movie somewhat disappointed some audiences that this movie was more of a prequel than a sequel. Only towards the end, the movie feels like a sequel.

Molly Ephraim and Katie Featherston were the only good performers in the movie. This prequel did have some good genuinely scares.

Some very flawed plot twists and an few occasionally silliness hurts this movie a bit. If there is a "Paranormal Activity 3", i hope, it will be improved.
This movie somewhat disappointed some audiences that this movie was more of a prequel than a sequel. Only towards the end, the movie feels like a sequel.

Molly Ephraim and Katie Featherston were the only good performers in the movie. This prequel did have some good genuinely scares.

Some very flawed plot twists and an few occasionally silliness hurts this movie a bit. If there is a "Paranormal Activity 3", i hope, it will be improved.
Your Reply:



+0
10:44PM on 02/04/2011

not as good as the first but

wow im shocked Arrow didnt like this movie..i loved the first Paranormal Activity, really creeped me out so i was hyped for this one...i was interested in the characters of PA 2 and once the scares started happening i was on the edge of my seat..im a jaded horror fan but PA 2 was a solid flick...it actually managed to get under my skin just like the first and that says alot as that doesnt happen too often anymore..i cared for the characters in PA 2 and didnt want to see anything happen to
wow im shocked Arrow didnt like this movie..i loved the first Paranormal Activity, really creeped me out so i was hyped for this one...i was interested in the characters of PA 2 and once the scares started happening i was on the edge of my seat..im a jaded horror fan but PA 2 was a solid flick...it actually managed to get under my skin just like the first and that says alot as that doesnt happen too often anymore..i cared for the characters in PA 2 and didnt want to see anything happen to them..

that said PA 2 has its share of flaws, namely why they would keep on filming during all this, they need to somehow come up with a good reason to have them keep filming...plus, no sane people would stay in the house...and yes i agree, calling in the mexican nanny to have an exorcism was laughable...

still a pretty good movie though..
Your Reply:



12:06AM on 02/01/2011

AWFUL

Don't get how people actually liked this. I was fighting to stay awake, the husband and wife characters were terrible and it pretty much copied everything from the first movie...except the scares. Just awful.
Don't get how people actually liked this. I was fighting to stay awake, the husband and wife characters were terrible and it pretty much copied everything from the first movie...except the scares. Just awful.
Your Reply:



8:16AM on 01/25/2011

Fuck you

I'll take the arrow over any of the shitty reviewers on RT. This movie was tense for the mainstream movie goer, but for experienced genre fans it was a borefest.
I'll take the arrow over any of the shitty reviewers on RT. This movie was tense for the mainstream movie goer, but for experienced genre fans it was a borefest.
Your Reply:



1:05PM on 01/07/2011
This fucking idiot who reviews these movies sounds like a 13 year old horny child. What real critic rates movies based on t&a and constantly refers to sex acts on his reviews. He loves horrible shit like The Dentist and Tobe Hoopers Crocodile but bashes this..no wonder you're not on Rotten Tomatoes. Idiot.
This fucking idiot who reviews these movies sounds like a 13 year old horny child. What real critic rates movies based on t&a and constantly refers to sex acts on his reviews. He loves horrible shit like The Dentist and Tobe Hoopers Crocodile but bashes this..no wonder you're not on Rotten Tomatoes. Idiot.
Your Reply:



1:02PM on 01/07/2011
This fucking idiot who reviews these movies sounds like a 13 year old horny child. What real critic rates movies based on t&a and constantly refers to sex acts on his reviews. He loves horrible shit like The Dentist and Tobe Hoopers Crocodile but bashes this..no wonder you're not on Rotten Tomatoes. Idiot.
This fucking idiot who reviews these movies sounds like a 13 year old horny child. What real critic rates movies based on t&a and constantly refers to sex acts on his reviews. He loves horrible shit like The Dentist and Tobe Hoopers Crocodile but bashes this..no wonder you're not on Rotten Tomatoes. Idiot.
Your Reply:



+0
6:31AM on 11/05/2010

Strange, but I LOVED it...

I love The Arrow and his views with a passion, but for just about the first time ever I find myself seeing a film through entirely different eyes.

After its slow start, both myself and my significant other found this absolutely terrifying. Any scary movie that scares you enough to keep you awake at night has to be doing something right, and that's exactly what this did. In fact, we were still jumpy the next morning.

We loved how it chimed with the first film, the way the tension rises
I love The Arrow and his views with a passion, but for just about the first time ever I find myself seeing a film through entirely different eyes.

After its slow start, both myself and my significant other found this absolutely terrifying. Any scary movie that scares you enough to keep you awake at night has to be doing something right, and that's exactly what this did. In fact, we were still jumpy the next morning.

We loved how it chimed with the first film, the way the tension rises slowly, and the shocks, when they come, send you through the ceiling. As fans of the first film, we loved the ending in a 'almost wish I hadn't seen that' kinda way. Brrrrrr....
Your Reply:



+0
5:08PM on 11/04/2010

Acquired Taste

The father character had a line or two ring false in his skeptic role, but other than that I found all the acting very organic and free from the usual horror cliches.

Likewise, I think the whole curse part of the plot would have been more interesting if someone closer to the story were responsible, since that would have added some deeper material for the actors to work with.

Otherwise - I totally get people not liking the whole found footage subgenre, and worrying that it may crowd out
The father character had a line or two ring false in his skeptic role, but other than that I found all the acting very organic and free from the usual horror cliches.

Likewise, I think the whole curse part of the plot would have been more interesting if someone closer to the story were responsible, since that would have added some deeper material for the actors to work with.

Otherwise - I totally get people not liking the whole found footage subgenre, and worrying that it may crowd out the stuff they do like. Much as torture and comedy horror trends have made the 'oughts a low point for me.

I like a movie that gives you time to imagine what's in the dark, and worry about what might happen. This does that. It could be deeper and I really think Blair Witch is still the smartest film of the bunch. But in terms of well earned, perfectly paced jump scares, this film has it beat.

I also like a film that tries something innovative. For me this is still a unique approach to filmmaking. We'll see if more hacks start to pick up on it.
Your Reply:



+0
3:00PM on 11/01/2010

Sorry...

...I liked it...A LOT! I am not sure why everyone is tearing this flick apart. Was it perfect? No! But it actually made me jump and that is what I wanted it to do. I love zombies and gore as much as the next guy but I thought this was creepy as hell and enjoyed every minute of it.
...I liked it...A LOT! I am not sure why everyone is tearing this flick apart. Was it perfect? No! But it actually made me jump and that is what I wanted it to do. I love zombies and gore as much as the next guy but I thought this was creepy as hell and enjoyed every minute of it.
Your Reply:



4:23AM on 10/28/2010
It was an OK sequel. Too bad that I liked the first better.

If there's a PA3, they'll hopefully do a better job there.
It was an OK sequel. Too bad that I liked the first better.

If there's a PA3, they'll hopefully do a better job there.
Your Reply:



+0
9:52PM on 10/26/2010

Pretty Good

I actually liked the film, although i liked the first better because it had more of a reaction from me than this one. I noticed a lot of people around especially where i live who say they didnt like it and their reason is that it didn't look real and they it isnt hard to get the door to move or create a shadow with computer generated graphics. Well my first response is always this movie isn't a true story or even based off of true events and that they chose to use this type of format as stated
I actually liked the film, although i liked the first better because it had more of a reaction from me than this one. I noticed a lot of people around especially where i live who say they didnt like it and their reason is that it didn't look real and they it isnt hard to get the door to move or create a shadow with computer generated graphics. Well my first response is always this movie isn't a true story or even based off of true events and that they chose to use this type of format as stated in one of the articles a while back before part 1 was released in theatres. Anywho I really liked the first one and thought PA 2 was a worthy sequel. The only thing that kinda bugged me was i couldnt help but feel like it should of been longer.
Your Reply:



9:08PM on 10/24/2010

Was so much scarier than the first one.

I liked it a lot. It was SOOO much scarier than the first one. The only part that scared me from the first one was the ending. But this one honestly scared the hell out of me. I found myself dreading what would happen next. There was so much more tension in this one and boy did it feel good to be scared again.

There were also a lot of good "boo scares" which worked magic and made me jump out of my seat. ESPECIALLY the one in the kitchen, you'll know what i'm talking about when you see it. I
I liked it a lot. It was SOOO much scarier than the first one. The only part that scared me from the first one was the ending. But this one honestly scared the hell out of me. I found myself dreading what would happen next. There was so much more tension in this one and boy did it feel good to be scared again.

There were also a lot of good "boo scares" which worked magic and made me jump out of my seat. ESPECIALLY the one in the kitchen, you'll know what i'm talking about when you see it. I only have two complaints.

While I loved how they tied this and the first one together, I felt that too much of the backstory was told in this one. It was less ambiguous and I thought it made itself a plot hole or two. My other complaint is while I liked the ending, it felt a little bit rushed. But otherwise, this was a great creepy and scary time at the movies. And it was a hell of a lot scarier than the first one.
Your Reply:



6:32PM on 10/24/2010

I really liked it.

For me, it didn't have the same impact as the first (particularly the ending),
but still, I'm glad to see Hollywood trying to do the Horror genre in a manner that's different from the cookie-cutter formula that they've been using for the past few decades.
For far too long, they have made scare flicks that relied too much on the simple novelty of blood & gore,
therefore, either compromising the story or even worse, just completely throwing the story out the window.
For me, it didn't have the same impact as the first (particularly the ending),
but still, I'm glad to see Hollywood trying to do the Horror genre in a manner that's different from the cookie-cutter formula that they've been using for the past few decades.
For far too long, they have made scare flicks that relied too much on the simple novelty of blood & gore,
therefore, either compromising the story or even worse, just completely throwing the story out the window.
Your Reply:



+0
12:19PM on 10/24/2010
Thank you!!! The first one was a boring snooze fest and this one was even worse. How people find this bullshit scary is beyond me when half of the ghosty happenings could all be explained by an open window and a gust of wind. Basicly for these shitty movies to to elicit fear you have to be afraid of your own shadow. a fat 0 out of ten for me
Thank you!!! The first one was a boring snooze fest and this one was even worse. How people find this bullshit scary is beyond me when half of the ghosty happenings could all be explained by an open window and a gust of wind. Basicly for these shitty movies to to elicit fear you have to be afraid of your own shadow. a fat 0 out of ten for me
Your Reply:



5:36AM on 10/24/2010

Hey chris2269! To address your post.

There are no imagined trend of reviews on Arrow in the Head bro. We're NOT that site. Chris hated the first one so he went in with that. I didn't hate the first one, just liked it and went in wanting to dig PA 2. I didn't is all. Maybe if it would have scared me like the original did at times, I would have forgiven its utter stupidity. But it didn't... hope ya dig the film when u see it. Nobody likes feeling like they wasted money.
There are no imagined trend of reviews on Arrow in the Head bro. We're NOT that site. Chris hated the first one so he went in with that. I didn't hate the first one, just liked it and went in wanting to dig PA 2. I didn't is all. Maybe if it would have scared me like the original did at times, I would have forgiven its utter stupidity. But it didn't... hope ya dig the film when u see it. Nobody likes feeling like they wasted money.
Your Reply:



+0
2:48AM on 10/24/2010

Agree

Thought I'd see this even though I haven't seen the first (heard this was a prequel) but man, this was boring. I don't mind a goreless film that rather focus on building tension if done right, but there was just too little happenings to keep me interested. Can't believe a pot falling was one of the more exciting scenes. You'd think the unseen force would be a little more creative than just opening and closing doors and cabinets. The stairwell scene was about the only one worth watching.
Thought I'd see this even though I haven't seen the first (heard this was a prequel) but man, this was boring. I don't mind a goreless film that rather focus on building tension if done right, but there was just too little happenings to keep me interested. Can't believe a pot falling was one of the more exciting scenes. You'd think the unseen force would be a little more creative than just opening and closing doors and cabinets. The stairwell scene was about the only one worth watching.
Your Reply:



+0
2:07AM on 10/24/2010

Agree

Thought I'd see this even though I haven't seen the first (heard this was a prequel) but man, this was boring. I don't mind a goreless film that rather focus on building tension if done right, but there was just too little happenings to keep me interested. Can't believe a pot falling was one of the more exciting scenes. You'd think the unseen force would be a little more creative than just opening and closing doors and cabinets. The stairwell scene was about the only one worth watching.
Thought I'd see this even though I haven't seen the first (heard this was a prequel) but man, this was boring. I don't mind a goreless film that rather focus on building tension if done right, but there was just too little happenings to keep me interested. Can't believe a pot falling was one of the more exciting scenes. You'd think the unseen force would be a little more creative than just opening and closing doors and cabinets. The stairwell scene was about the only one worth watching.
Your Reply:



1:20AM on 10/24/2010

Hope I'm jumping the gun

This site is one of my beacons of hope in a sea of blackness. Kind of a safe harbor I can depend on. That being said the 2 reviews of PA2 on this site smack of the pre-concievement you get on sites like RT. Arrows review is a lot more upfront about this while Chris Bumbrays review is a joke....if your that biased going in, be professional and don't review it. I must confess I thought the first film was OK and liked it more for what it did on its budget and script against the retreads from
This site is one of my beacons of hope in a sea of blackness. Kind of a safe harbor I can depend on. That being said the 2 reviews of PA2 on this site smack of the pre-concievement you get on sites like RT. Arrows review is a lot more upfront about this while Chris Bumbrays review is a joke....if your that biased going in, be professional and don't review it. I must confess I thought the first film was OK and liked it more for what it did on its budget and script against the retreads from Hollywood (Saw 7). Again I'm not discounting Arrows review as he has lead me to many a fine movie ...Chris B's review is another kettle of fish entirely. Maybe I'm making mountains out of mole hills but I would hate to see something I love go bad. I will probably wait to See PA2 on DVD or download so I understand my stance is somewhat hypocritical as I am not defending the film just my self conceived alarm at a possibly imagined trend in reviews on the site.

Your Reply:



7:26PM on 10/23/2010

Liked it

Fun review Arrow, but I got to say I liked this one. Just as much as the first. Any movie that gets fearful reactions out of me did something right... here was no exception
Fun review Arrow, but I got to say I liked this one. Just as much as the first. Any movie that gets fearful reactions out of me did something right... here was no exception
Your Reply:



7:05PM on 10/23/2010
While I enjoyed this film, I also enjoyed your review. I liked that you made it perfectly clear that it was YOUR opinion instead of saying something like "This movie sucked, and everyone who liked it is stupid, and that is fact!"

I agree with most of your points except that the film did freak me out, I went to bed and started hearing noises in the attic and automatically thought of this movie. I had trouble falling asleep.
While I enjoyed this film, I also enjoyed your review. I liked that you made it perfectly clear that it was YOUR opinion instead of saying something like "This movie sucked, and everyone who liked it is stupid, and that is fact!"

I agree with most of your points except that the film did freak me out, I went to bed and started hearing noises in the attic and automatically thought of this movie. I had trouble falling asleep.
Your Reply:



Featured Youtube Videos

Views and Counting

Mistress Of The Week

More
Taylor-Joy, Anya