Listen to full, creepy remix of "I Got 5 On It" from Jordan Peele's Us

Regardless of if Jordan Peele had released the masterful GET OUT two years ago, the movie US would still be one of the most anticipated movies of the spring thanks to a perfectly unsettling and memorable trailer. Not only is the content freaky but so much more is the music, featuring a haunting remix of the song “I Got 5 On It” by Luniz (featuring Michael Marshall). The soundtrack for the movie is now out and available to listen to as much as you please, and on that soundtrack is the very remix that will shake you to your core and prepare you for one terrifying moviegoing experience.

The newly released soundtrack is made up of 35 tracks, the majority of them by musician Michael Abels, with inclusions from Janelle Monáe (from her album “Dirty Computer”) and Minnie Riperton. The “I Got 5 On It” remix was used in the trailer to terrific effect, but when you listen to it on its own you can still get a sense at why this is the perfect track for a movie like US. Much like the dynamic of the family, everything starts fine at first, hinting at the relaxation and good vibes ahead. Suddenly, things take a nightmarish turn, and the switch in tone and style begins to wash out the main chorus and replace it with something sinister and violent. In short, it’s a great way to start the day, so have a listen below.

Here is the full tracklist to check out, and you can download the full album on Spotify or wherever you stream/buy music:

01 Michael Abels: “Anthem”

02 Janelle Monáe: “I Like That”

03 Michael Abels: “Outernet”

04 Michael Abels: “Spider”

05 Michael Abels: “Ballet Memory”

06 Luniz: “I Got 5 On It” [Feat. Michael Marshall]

07 Michael Abels: “Beach Walk”

08 Michael Abels: “First Man Standing”

09 Michael Abels: “Back To The House”

10 Michael Abels: “Keep You Safe”

11 Michael Abels: “Don’t Feel Like Myself”

12 Michael Abels: “She Tried to Kill Me”

13 Michael Abels: “Boogieman’s Family”

14 Michael Abels: “Home Invasion”

15 Michael Abels: “Once Upon A Time”

16 Michael Abels: “Run”

17 Michael Abels: “Into The Water”

18 Michael Abels: “Spark In The Closet”

19 Michael Abels: “Escape To The Boast”

20 Michael Abels: “Femme Fatale”

21 Michael Abels: “Silent Scream”

22 Michael Abels: “News Report”

23 Michael Abels: “Zora Drives”

24 Michael Abels: “Death of Umbrae”

25 Michael Abels: “Somber Ride”

26 Michael Abels: “Immolation”

27 Michael Abels: “Down The Rabbit Hole”

28 Michael Abels: “Performance Art”

29 Michael Abels: “Human”

30 Michael Abels: “Battle Plan”

31 Michael Abels: “Pas De Deux”

32 Michael Abels: “They Can’t Hurt You”

33 Michael Abels: “Finale”

34 Minnie Riperton: “Les Fleur”

35 Luniz: “I Got 5 On It (Tethered Mix From US)” [Feat. Michael Marshall] (Bonus Track)

After listening to most of the tracks I can say it’s certainly an interesting piece of work, and even when it's being somewhat wholesome at the start there’s always an ominous dread lurking underneath. Then everything gets straight up evil, with plenty of tracks befitting of murder sequences and hellish chaos. If you weren’t pumped enough for the movie, may I suggest giving this a listen?

US with Lupita Nyong'o, Winston Duke and more is in theaters March 22.

Source: via Pitchfork



Latest Entertainment News Headlines


Featured Youtube Videos