Star Wars digital HD movie collection to be released on April 10

Star Wars Digital Movie Collection

Lucasfilm, Disney and 20th Century Fox have announced that all six Star Wars films will be available on digital HD for the very first time beginning Friday, April 10. Prices weren't mentioned in the announcement, but Amazon already has them listed for pre-order at $19.99 a pop, and the entire collection is going for $89.99.

The movie downloads will come with a "curated collection of classic Star Wars extras from each film," as well as new bonus features*, including "Star Wars: Discoveries from Inside and insightful Conversations between key contributors from across this celebrated film franchise."

Lucasfilm president Kathleen Kennedy on the Star Wars digital HD release:

We’re thrilled that fans will be able to enjoy the Star Wars Saga on their digital devices wherever they go. These films broke new ground in technology, design, sound, and visual effects, and we’ve created some very special bonus material which delves into the Saga’s rich history, including new and never-before-released conversations between legendary Star Wars artists – the masters who helped George bring his iconic universe to life.

Walt Disney Studios president Alan Bergman:

It’s only fitting that audiences enjoy this legendary saga and its many fascinating behind-the-scenes stories on a wide variety of platforms, and we’re very excited to finally bring all six films to digital HD for the first time.

Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace

Conversations: Doug Chiang Looks Back
Discoveries From Inside: Models & Miniatures
Legacy content includes “The Beginning”; The Podrace: Theatrical Edit; plus eight deleted scenes.

Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones

Conversations: Sounds in Space
Discoveries From Inside: Costumes Revealed
Legacy content includes “From Puppets To Pixels: Digital Characters In Episode II”; State Of The Art: The Previsualization Of Episode II; and “Films Are Not Released, They Escape”; plus Episode II Visual Effects Breakdown Montage and six deleted scenes.

Star Wars: Episode III - Revenge of the Sith

Conversations: The Star Wars That Almost Was
Discoveries From Inside: Hologram & Bloopers
Legacy content includes documentaries “Within A Minute: The Making Of Episode III”; The Journey Part 1; and The Journey Part 2; plus six deleted scenes.

Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope

Conversations: Creating A Universe
Discoveries From Inside: Weapons & The First Lightsaber
Legacy content includes “Anatomy Of A Dewback”; Star Wars Launch Trailer; plus eight deleted scenes.

Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back

Conversations: The Lost Interviews
Discoveries From Inside: Matte Paintings Unveiled
Legacy content includes “A Conversation With The Masters” (2010); “Dennis Muren: How Walkers Walk”; “George Lucas On Editing The Empire Strikes Back 1979”; and “George Lucas On The Force: 2010”; plus six deleted scenes.

Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi

Conversations: The Effects
Discoveries From Inside: The Sounds Of Ben Burtt
Legacy content includes “Classic Creatures: Return Of The Jedi”; “Revenge Of The Jedi Teaser Trailer”; Return Of The Jedi Launch Trailer; “It Began TV Spot”; “Climactic Chapter TV Spot”; plus five deleted scenes.

STAR WARS: THE FORCE AWAKENS will be in theaters on December 18, 2015.

*Digital bonus offerings may vary by retailer.

Source: LucasFilm



Latest Entertainment News Headlines