A24, The Rider win big at Gotham Awards

Last Updated on July 30, 2021

Last night the Gotham Awards were held, making it one of the first big awards ceremonies of the race. Gotham doesn’t quite define or even shake up the race, historically, but it can give a nice little boost to some smaller films that need it, shining a spotlight on some that may have gone unnoticed. Unsurprisingly, studio A24 cleaned up with numerous wins for movies like FIRST REFORMED, EIGHTH GRADE and HEREDITARY, with Toni Collette earning a much-deserved prize for her unreal work in the movie. Though there were notable titles in the bunch, the top prize went to THE RIDER in a bit of an upset, a movie about a cowboy struggling to cope with a new life after an injury prevents him from competing in the rodeo.


Tied with REFORMED for the most nominations, THE FAVOURITE walked away with no wins in any category, but it was given a special ensemble prize to actresses Olivia Colman, Emma Stone and Rachel Weisz. Other Oscar hopefuls were in the mix, including Richard E. Grant for CAN YOU EVER FORGIVE ME?, Ben Foster for LEAVE NO TRACE, Kathryn Hahn for A PRIVATE LIFE and more.

Scroll down to see the winners:


Best Feature

  • The Favourite
  • First Reformed
  • The Rider
  • If Beale Street Could Talk
  • Madeline’s Madeline


Best Actor


Best Actress

*The 2018 Best Actress nominating committee also voted to award a special Gotham Jury Award to Olivia Colman, Emma Stone, and Rachel Weisz for their ensemble performance in THE FAVOURITE (Fox Searchlight Pictures). 

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

  • Ari Aster – Hereditary (A24)
  • Bo Burnham – Eighth Grade (A24)
  • Jennifer Fox – The Tale (HBO)
  • Crystal Moselle – Skate Kitchen (Magnolia Pictures)
  • Boots Riley – Sorry to Bother You (Annapurna Pictures)


Breakthrough Actor

  • Yalitza Aparicio – Roma (Netflix)
  • Elsie Fisher – Eighth Grade (A24)
  • Helena Howard – Madeline’s Madeline (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
  • KiKi Layne – If Beale Street Could Talk (Annapurna Pictures)
  • Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie – Leave No Trace (Bleecker Street)


Best Screenplay


Best Documentary

  • Bisbee ‘17
  • Hale County This Morning, This Evening
  • Minding the Gap
  • Shirkers
  • Won’t You Be My Neighbor?


Breakthrough Series – Long Form

  • Alias Grace
  • Big Mouth
  • The End of the F***ing World
  • Killing Eve
  • Pose
  • Sharp Objects



Breakthrough Series – Short Form

  • 195 Lewis
  • Cleaner Daze
  • Distance
  • The F Word
  • She’s the Ticket


Audience Award:

  • Won't You Be My Neighbor? (Winner)
  • Bisbee '17
  • Eighth Grade
  • The Favourite
  • First Reformed
  • Hale County This Morning, This Evening
  • Hereditary
  • If Beale Street Could Talk
  • Madeline's Madeline
  • Minding the Gap
  • The Rider
  • Shirkers
  • Skate Kitchen
  • Sorry to Bother You
  • The Tale

Source: Gotham Awards

About the Author

3750 Articles Published