Twin Peaks just might return this April... Plus, Fire Walk OST hits vinyl

Twin Peaks David Lynch Death Waltz

The return of Twin Peaks is imminent, but just how imminent we have no idea. Literally. Showtime has been keeping very tight-lipped about their reboot of the popular cult series, which wrapped production back in April under the guiding hand of odd auteur David Lynch. However, maybe - just maybe - they've released a clue out into the world.

Showtime has sent out a promotional wall calendar for 2017 and the image chosen to represent May is Twin Peaks' own White Tail Falls and Great Northern hotel, with a logo reading "Welcome to Twin Peaks" filling in the slot of April 30th. Speculation abounds around this design choice, though Showtime has obviously yet to reveal any official intention for their release date.

As you wait anxiously for the show's return, I do bear concrete good news. Death Waltz records, who put out the show's original soundtrack on vinyl back in August, will be awarding the same treatment to the film soundtrack of TWIN PEAKS: FIRE WALK WITH ME, celebrating the film's 25th anniversary. It will be available for purchase starting January 25th on Mondo's web site.

Check out the vinyl artwork (by Sam Smith) and packaging (by Jay Shaw) below, as well as the calendar central to all this hullabaloo!

When the show returns, it will star returning cast members:

Kyle MacLachlan, Sheryl Lee, Sherilyn Fenn, Dana Ashbrook, Madchen Amick, Miguel Ferrer, David Patrick Kelly, Richard Beymer, and Lynch himself. Possibly joining that list are Lynch's Twin Peaks co-creator Mark Frost, Frost's father Warren Frost, Ray Wise, Grace Zabriskie, Peggy Lipton, Everett McGill, Wendy Robie, James Marshall, Al Strobel, Kimmy Robertson, Harry Goaz, Charlotte Stewart, Gary Hershberger, Jan D'Arcy, Harry Dean Stanton, and maybe Catherine E. Coulson, who may have filmed some scenes before she passed away last September. 

New cast members to be featured are:

Amanda Seyfried, Peter Sarsgaard, Balthazar Getty, Robert Knepper, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Bailey Chase, Laura Dern, Robert Forster, Naomi Watts, Tom Sizemore, Grant Goodeve, Larry Clarke, Caleb Landry Jones, James Belushi, Ashley Judd, Michael Cera, Pearl Jam's Eddie Vedder, Ernie Hudson, Derek Mears and Trent Reznor.

Here are the details on the vinyl release of FIRE WALK WITH ME:

  • Director-approved artwork
  • Composer-approved audio
  • Sleeve notes By film critic Mark Kermode
  • Vinyl re-master by Tal Miller at Warner Archives
  • Laquers cut by David Cheppa at Plush Vinyl
  • 2 x 180G Cherry Pie vinyl
  • 425gsm Gatefold sleeve housed inside a bespoke black die cut outer jacket with black spot varnish finish, complete with obi strip. 

01. Theme From Twin Peaks - Fire Walk With Me (6:40)
02. The Pine Float (3:58)
03. Sycamore Trees (3:52)
04. Don't Do Anything (I Wouldn't Do) (7:17)
05. A Real Indication (5:31)
06. Questions In A World Of Blue (4:50)
07. The Pink Room (4:02)
08. The Black Dog Runs At Night (1:45)
09. Best Friends (2:12)
10. Moving Through Time (6:41)
11. Montage From Twin Peaks - Girl Talk / Birds In Hell / Laura Palmer's Theme / Falling (5:27)
12. The Voice Of Love (3:55)

Extra Tidbit: Did you watch Twin Peaks when it initially aired?



Latest Movie News Headlines