Netflix’s Dark Crystal series adds Lena Headey & Sigourney Weaver

Last Updated on August 5, 2021

Netflix has announced additional voice cast joining THE DARK CRYSTAL: AGE OF RESISTANCE the epic prequel series to the beloved 1982 Jim Henson film THE DARK CRYSTAL. Newly announced voice cast includes Lena Headey (Game of Thrones) as Maudra Fara, Benedict Wong (Avengers: Endgame) as The General, Awkwafina (Crazy Rich Asians) as The Collector, Hannah John-Kamen (Ant-Man and The Wasp) as Naia, Dave Goelz (The Dark Crystal) as Baffi, a Fizzgig, and Sigourney Weaver as The Myth-Speaker.

Additional characters will also be voiced by their puppeteers from the production, including Alice Dinnean as The Ornamentalist, Louise Gold as Maudra Argot, Neil Sterenberg as The Scroll-Keeper, and Victor Yerrid as Hup. Additionally, Dinnean, Beccy Henderson and Sterenberg are the puppeteers for lead characters Brea, Deet, and Rian, respectively. Core puppeteers for the production also include Warrick Brownlow-Pike, Dave Chapman, Kevin Clash, Damian Farrell, Helena Smee, Kat Smee, and Olly Taylor.

They will join the previously announced voice-cast which includes The Gelflings lead by Taron Egerton (Kingsman) as Rian, Anya Taylor-Joy (The Witch) as Brea, Nathalie Emmanuel (Game of Thrones) as Deet, Caitriona Balfe (Outlander) as Tavra, Helena Bonham Carter (The King’s Speech) as All-Maudra, Harris Dickinson (forthcoming Maleficent 2) as Gurjin, Natalie Dormer (Game of Thrones) as Onica, Eddie Izzard (Ocean’s Thirteen) as Cadia, Theo James (The Divergent Series) as Rek’yr, Toby Jones (Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy) as Librarian, Shazad Latif (Star Trek: Discovery) as Kylan, Gugu Mbatha-Raw (The Cloverfield Paradox) as Seladon, Mark Strong (Kingsman) as Ordon, and Alicia Vikander (Tomb Raider) as Mira.

The Skeksis & Mystics will be played by Harvey Fierstein (Torch Song Trilogy) as The Gourmand, Mark Hamill (Child’s Play, Star Wars) as The Scientist, Ralph Ineson (Game of Thrones) as The Hunter, Jason Isaacs (The OA) as The Emperor, Keegan-Michael Key (Toy Story 4) as The Ritual Master, Ólafur Darri Ólafsson (True Detective) as The Archer, Simon Pegg (Mission Impossible) as The Chamberlain, Andy Samberg (Brooklyn Nine Nine) as The Heretic, and Aughra – Donna Kimball (The Happytime Murders) as Aughra.

Based on Jim Henson’s groundbreaking 1982 feature film, THE DARK CRYSTAL: AGE OF RESISTANCE tells 

a new story set many years before the events of the movie and realized using classic puppetry with cutting edge visual effects. The world of Thra is dying. The Crystal of Truth is at the heart of Thra, a source of untold power. But it is damaged, corrupted by the evil Skeksis, and a sickness spreads across the land. When three Gelfling uncover the horrific truth behind the power of the Skeksis, an adventure unfolds as the fires of rebellion are lit and an epic battle for the planet begins.

Louis Leterrier directs the series which is produced by Ritamarie Peruggi. Leterrier also executive produces along with by Lisa Henson, and Halle Stanford. Jeffrey Addiss, Will Matthews, Javier Grillo-Marxuach, and Blanca Lista are co-executive producers. The 10 hour-long episodes from The Jim Henson Company will begin streaming exclusively on Netflix on Friday, August 30, 2019.

Source: AITH

About the Author

4989 Articles Published